Substance Painter
In this start to finish texturing project within Substance Painter we cover all the techniques you need to texture the robot character.
# 1 26-01-2006 , 07:07 PM

put shaded on by startup?

How can i put shaded and sub d on 3 by default... it's annoying putting it everytime i start again :zzz:

# 2 31-01-2006 , 05:49 PM
anybody ?

# 3 31-01-2006 , 06:56 PM
pbman's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
not sure u can
its not that hard to push 3


Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut https://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
# 4 01-02-2006 , 02:16 PM
no not hard but very annoying especially with sub-d toggle.. :headbang:

# 5 01-02-2006 , 04:20 PM
blomkaal's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 816
Well I guess you could make a script that converts your poly or whatever to sub-d's and then increases the smoothness...


Liter is French for 'Gimme some ****ing cola before I break vous ****ing lips!"
# 6 01-02-2006 , 05:32 PM
Well i don't know MEL but if you can hack the script :bow:

Code:
//
// toggle subdivision surfaces
//
// Created by Hamish McKenzie www.emissionpossible.com
// Created : 4 July 2001
// Amended : 9 April 2003**
//
// Description:
// a simple little script that will hopefully make lightwave users
// a little more comfortable with their modelling.  it will toggle
// an object between subdiv and poly.  it will also convert a nurbs
// surface to subdiv.
//
// 13/12/01:Fixed it, so hopefully it now works.  The original version
// of this script was one of my first.  And it showed.  So I've
// re-written it, so its a lot cleaner, and it should work properly
// now.  Plus it now works with multiple selections, as well as when
// you've got components selected instead of objects.
//
// 26/03/03simple change.  it now works on hilite selections if either
// an object or component isn't selected.
//
// **it now checks to see if there are any "intermediate" objects
// that share the same transform, and deletes them.  It also
// automatically deletes history on the object.  It seems to be very
// reliable now.  It also no longer relies on external scripts.
//
// Hamish McKenzie ©2001...


global proc zzToggleSubDee() {
	string $selObjs[] = `ls -sl -o`;
	if ( `size $selObjs` == 0 ) $selObjs = `ls -hl`;

	for ( $obj in $selObjs ) {
		int $isShape = `zzIsType shape $obj`;
		int $isTransform = `zzIsType transform $obj`;

		//delete history on the object
		delete -ch $obj;
		
		//now check to see if there are any "intermediate" objects in the transform
		string $shapes[] = `listRelatives`;

		//SHAPES
		if ( $isShape ) {
			string $objTransform[] = `listRelatives -p $obj`;
			string $children[] = `listRelatives -c $objTransform`;

			for ( $child in $children ) {  //discover any intermediate objects that are children of the transform in question
				if ( `getAttr ( $child + ".intermediateObject" )` ) { delete $child; }
				}

			string $objType = `nodeType $obj`;
			if ( $objType == "subdiv" ) {
				string $newObject[] = `subdToPoly -ch 0 -aut 1 -format 0 -depth 0 -sampleCount 1 -maxPolys 15000 -epp 1 -suv 1 -subdNormals 0 $obj`;
				delete $obj;
				rename $newObject[0] $obj;
				}
			if ( $objType == "mesh" ) {
				string $newObject[] = `polyToSubdiv -ch 0 -aut 1 -ap 0 -mpc 100000 -me 255 $obj`;
				delete $obj;
				rename $newObject[0] $obj;
				}
			if ( $objType == "nurbsSurface" ) {
				string $newObject[] = `nurbsToSubdiv -ch 0 -aut 1 -rn 0 -mpc 100000 -mp 1 $obj`;
				delete $obj;
				rename $newObject[0] $obj;
				}
			}

		//TRANSFORMS
		if ( $isTransform ) {
			string $children[] = `listRelatives -c $obj`;
			for ( $child in $children ) {  //discover any intermediate objects that are children of the transform in question
				if ( `getAttr ( $child + ".intermediateObject" )` ) { delete $child; }
				}

			string $objShape[] = `listRelatives -s $obj`;
			string $objType = `nodeType $objShape`;
			if ( $objType == "subdiv" ) {
				string $newObject[] = `subdToPoly -ch 0 -aut 1 -format 0 -depth 0 -sampleCount 1 -maxPolys 15000 -epp 1 -suv 1 -subdNormals 0 $objShape[0]`;
				delete $objShape[0];
				rename $newObject[0] $objShape[0];
				}
			if ( $objType == "mesh" ) {
				string $newObject[] = `polyToSubdiv -ch 0 -aut 1 -ap 0 -mpc 100000 -me 255 $objShape[0]`;
				delete $objShape[0];
				rename $newObject[0] $objShape[0];
				}
			if ( $objType == "nurbsSurface" ) {
				string $newObject[] = `nurbsToSubdiv -ch 0 -aut 1 -rn 0 -mpc 100000 -mp 1 $objShape[0]`;
				delete $objShape[0];
				rename $newObject[0] $objShape[0];
				}
			}
		}
	//RESTORE SELECTION
	select $selObjs;
	}


global proc int zzIsType ( string $type, string $obj ) {
	$selType = `nodeType $obj`;
	$isType = 0;
	if ( $type == "transform" ) {
		if ( $selType == "transform" ) {
			$isType = 1;
			}
		}

	if ( $type == "shape" ) {
		if ( $selType == "mesh" || $selType == "subdiv" || $selType == "nurbsSurface" ) {
			$isType = 1;
			}
		}
	return $isType;
	}

# 7 02-02-2006 , 08:29 AM
blomkaal's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 816
I don't know MEL either, but you should be off to a good start if you just convert the mesh, press 3, open the script editor, copy the actions you've just done and put them into a shelf icon or something like that... user added image


Liter is French for 'Gimme some ****ing cola before I break vous ****ing lips!"
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads