SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lighting & Rendering, Dynamics & Effects, Texturing / Mental Ray / strange artifacts when rendering with FG
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-08-2005, 12:00 PM   #1
herr_klaus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default strange artifacts when rendering with FG

Hello

I'm getting this strange jaggies or whatever it is , when i render with FG including a incandesence Light dome.




I'm used 1000 rays , min AA 1
Max AA 3

filter , mitchell


http://img320.imageshack.us/img320/6383/temp018zq.jpg

i need a solution i can't get it to work.
__________________
tck
herr_klaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2005, 10:10 PM   #2
BMS
Subscriber
 
BMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

After you render out, Click on the 1:1 button.
BMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 10:07 AM   #3
herr_klaus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

output any format is always 1:1
__________________
tck
herr_klaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 11:19 AM   #4
BMS
Subscriber
 
BMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Correct, but it may not be displayed as 1:1

If the window it opens the render in is smaller than what would allow 1:1 display of the image, maya will render it to scale but shrink it to fit the window.

The 1:1 button isn't there for looks

Well that's my 2 cents worth.

Cheers
Paul
BMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 11:29 AM   #5
herr_klaus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Is there any possibilty to save a output file for example , jpeg or tiff beneath 1:1 ?


But back to the point.
My FG rays aren't reaching those points , where these artifacts occure...how can i fix this.
__________________
tck
herr_klaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 11:34 AM   #6
herr_klaus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

changing camera angle can help to get rid of these unlit areas.

increasing u\re irriadiance dome may help too , correct me if i'm wrong?
__________________
tck
herr_klaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 11:35 AM   #7
BMS
Subscriber
 
BMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Right click on the image and select Save File, then select the format. I wouldn't recommend jpg, because maya seems to output a crappy image. Try TGA or something. In anycase you will see the file formats available when you go to save.

Cheers
Paul
BMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 03:10 PM   #8
herr_klaus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have problems figuring out how to lit these lil tiny area's with my final gather rays.
As u can see , these tiny spots don't get lit with my FG rays (i used 1000 rays including a lightdome to bounce off these rays).
I'm searching for a solution to lit these lil area's.



I'm not asking how to save a output file with or without image compression to preserve the image quality.

The jaggies (unlit area's) have nothing to do with image compression.
__________________
tck
herr_klaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2005, 05:40 AM   #9
swankymonkey
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 445
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Its been a while since I've messed with final gather settings but thats where you wanna look. Min and Max radius under the final gather menu I believe are your ticket. The values you put in are totally dependant on scene scale. If I remember correctly you should set max to 1/10 of your scene size and min to 1/10 of max ... something like that ... I'd have to read up on it again. You could also just try significantly increasing the number of rays.

cool model

Dave
swankymonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2005, 08:15 AM   #10
Xander-0
Registered User
 
Xander-0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: This Place
Posts: 220
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

I ran into a similar problem -
How big is your scene? Mental Ray actually appears to have a default render clipping plane (Haven't tried to mess with mine yet). I think its a bit over 1000 units.
Xander-0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 03:51 PM   #11
Minstrel
Subscriber
 
Minstrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Made in Spain
Posts: 422
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am having exactly the same problem on a plane I am doing. I'll post some images later tonight. Did you scale the model up when you worked on it? I think it is related to that. I did do FG on another plane and did not have any problems. The only difference between the two is that this one was scaled up early on significantly. I did try different settings for the Min and Max but that didn't fix it.
Minstrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2005, 02:01 AM   #12
Minstrel
Subscriber
 
Minstrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Made in Spain
Posts: 422
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well, I played a bit with it just now and it definitely had to do with the scaling of the objects. I adjusted the min and max radius to much bigger values than I thought, and here are the results, judge for yourself. FG rays are only 200 on both pics, the max radius is 1500 and the min is 200. That was the best combination I found. Raising FG to 500 did not make it better. Also, the sampling quality filter was set to triangle. Everything is default. I did the testing on the same project I was working on that gave me problems. I am sure that if I had started a brand new project with normal size models max/min radius of zero would have worked (which it has for me before).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	example of min and max radious.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	64.2 KB
ID:	23429  
Minstrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2005, 01:01 AM   #13
Black_Bart_GA
Subscriber
 
Black_Bart_GA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

herr_klaus

Just curious.....did you reverse normals on your dome?
Black_Bart_GA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2005, 08:59 AM   #14
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

I dont think you solved the problem as you've lost all the detail around your sphere (which is probably cause by such high values in the min and max distance). So it may look like it's solving the problem but I dont think it actually has.

I'm not MR expert but min and max radi that high will not give good results unless your scene scale is huge.

Post the scene file up if you want and we can look at it.
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2005, 04:22 PM   #15
herr_klaus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Black_Bart_GA
herr_klaus

Just curious.....did you reverse normals on your dome?
thats a VERY good idea !

i shall try it ...
__________________
tck
herr_klaus is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.