SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Competitions / Previous Challenges (Archives) / Legolas_hv - Summer Challenge
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-07-2007, 08:57 AM   #46
Legolas_hv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Seville, Spain
Posts: 238
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

EERM
what do you mean with max-ing?
Legolas_hv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2007, 09:18 AM   #47
Funky Bunnies
Subscriber
 
Funky Bunnies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 250
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

oh, it's not important or anything, I just noticed you had 3ds max open is all. That app's scarce around these forums.
__________________
www.funkybunnies3d.com
Funky Bunnies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2007, 09:38 AM   #48
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Max?! Blasphemy, he’s a witch, BURN him!!!!!

lol :lmao:

Coming along nicely, man.
  Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2007, 05:27 PM   #49
Legolas_hv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Seville, Spain
Posts: 238
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well, I started using max more than a year ago.

But now I'm using it to export the models to mudbox. With maya I make an FBX to open it in max and make an OBJ that i can open in Mudbox.

You know something? It only took me a couple of month to learn to make the same things I do in Maya. It's not difficult, only different.

I'll work on this a lot today, so maybe I'll post 2 or 3 new shots during the day.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ninja20.jpg
Views:	113
Size:	41.5 KB
ID:	35431  
Legolas_hv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2007, 07:25 PM   #50
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Why do you need to go into max then into mudbox?? Just export straight from maya as an obj or am i missing something that mudbox needs?
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2007, 08:47 PM   #51
Legolas_hv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Seville, Spain
Posts: 238
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

answer: Because I'm the biggest idiot on earth and forgot I could do that loading the plugin in the plugin manager... :headbang:
PS: I'M STUPID
Legolas_hv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2007, 08:51 PM   #52
Legolas_hv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Seville, Spain
Posts: 238
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

look at this.. a bit of texture and a couple of fx.
I think that might be the final camera position.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ninja25final.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	184.8 KB
ID:	35432  
Legolas_hv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2007, 08:51 PM   #53
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

LOL!
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2007, 09:30 PM   #54
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Sweet! Have you thought about painting his face black (like in The Last Samurai)?

Also, here’s just a funny link:
http://www.loservillex.com/ninja.html
:lmao:
  Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2007, 12:07 AM   #55
Funky Bunnies
Subscriber
 
Funky Bunnies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 250
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

looks pretty good, man. Be careful with the detail, though. It looks a bit crunchy in the cloth and I think it would look better toned down.

(No worries, I was just wondering about max because I use it about 50% of the time. It really isn't that different, but the modeling tools fit my workflow more.)
__________________
www.funkybunnies3d.com
Funky Bunnies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2007, 12:15 AM   #56
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

The LOL want caus of your model it was in reference to the maya/max/mudbox comment, must have poseted it just before I did mine!

Looks really good man, got to agree with funkey, as its looking a little "lumpy" in the areas that youve started on, I know as ive done it in Zbrush its easy to go ott and not keep the design in there, especially when you get into mayaas its always seems to be more in there than in the sculpting package.

Are you uasing displacements or just inporting the geo??
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2007, 12:53 AM   #57
Legolas_hv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Seville, Spain
Posts: 238
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Just importing.
But I think I won't do that any more because its like 1.5 million triangles in the scene... that's damn crazy, when I last saved the scene was like 60 MB! OMG!
Legolas_hv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2007, 04:13 AM   #58
THX1138
14 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,138
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Incredible Legolas-hv! I have got to get cracking on my pirate, I'm still working on his ribcage.
THX1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2007, 04:54 AM   #59
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Legolas_hv
Just importing.
But I think I won't do that any more because its like 1.5 million triangles in the scene... that's damn crazy, when I last saved the scene was like 60 MB! OMG!

Man thats mad, I m just going to import the displacements and go from there, think for my model I've got about 1000 polys before I apply the displacement, the Zbrush model is about 700,000.

Think I pushed my system to about 3 million polys once before it went uncontrolable, never go that level though now!
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2007, 11:38 AM   #60
Funky Bunnies
Subscriber
 
Funky Bunnies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 250
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hehe yeah mine's sitting at about 2.5 million in ZB but no way Maya would like that. Exporting a map and a lower res iteration is the way to go. Sorry to hijack the thread, legolas

I think this could use an ambient occlusion pass and some work in photoshop as well.
__________________
www.funkybunnies3d.com
Funky Bunnies is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.