SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Lofting in Maya vs. 3DSMax

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
11-03-2011, 01:18 PM   #1
oliverw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Lofting in Maya vs. 3DSMax
Hi

Coming from 3DSMax I'm having a hard time adapting some basic concepts to Maya. I'm especially stuck trying to translate Max's "Create -> Compound Object -> Loft" workflow to Maya where you could create a spline circle and a nurbs curve and loft the circle along the curve resulting in a solid object with no holes.

When I try to replicate that in Maya I always end up with holes on both sides of the resulting object. Is there really no way to fix this without using "Mesh -> Fill hole" which seems to (correct me if I'm wrong) add a new surface without reusing the the existing vertices of the border edges - resulting in visible seams.

Any help would be greatly appreciated
  Reply with quote
11-03-2011, 03:15 PM   #2
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
The tool your describing sounds like the extrude tool. which will extrude a profile along a path. Loft in maya will bridge 2+ profiles in order of selection.

I presume you are outputting polygons since you are using the fill hole command, this will just make a single polygon at each hole.

No new meshes are added to do this, it is not the same as using the planar opperation in NURBS (surfaces) which would create a new surface. All the planar tool does is create a polygon using existing verticies so no fusing is required.

You would only get 'visible seams' if your output was NURBS since commands that fill the hole such as planar do create new geometry (thats just how NURBS work) however as long as your tesselation settings are correct the seam will not be visible at render time.
The out put however will often be an n-gon so you will need to use split polygon to go in and make a tidy result.
__________________
FX supervisor - double negative
  Reply with quote
11-03-2011, 05:12 PM   #3
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Oliverw if you select edge then double click on the edge that goes around the top then extrude then merge to centre that will fix the hole.................dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010

Last edited by daverave; 11-03-2011 at 05:31 PM.
  Reply with quote
11-03-2011, 07:33 PM   #4
oliverw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Quote:
The tool your describing sounds like the extrude tool. which will extrude a profile along a path. Loft in maya will bridge 2+ profiles in order of selection.
Yes, you are right. Sorry


Quote:
No new meshes are added to do this, it is not the same as using the planar opperation in NURBS (surfaces) which would create a new surface. All the planar tool does is create a polygon using existing verticies so no fusing is required.

You would only get 'visible seams' if your output was NURBS since commands that fill the hole such as planar do create new geometry (thats just how NURBS work) however as long as your tesselation settings are correct the seam will not be visible at render time.
I had converted the NURBS surface resulting from the extrude operation to a Polygon Mesh and the seam I was seeing was simply the extruded source shape - which as NURBS curve had a slightly diifferent outline than its polygon replacement. So I made the mistake to misinterpret that.
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't batch render more than two frames! lvuorenvirta Lighting & Rendering 2 15-05-2015 09:51 AM
changing the "Quick help" window size in the maya 2012 script editor. Jouri Programming 3 27-11-2011 06:15 AM
Maya VS. 3Dsmax Hyperyon Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 65 23-12-2006 08:12 AM
Maya vs. 3DS, Light Wave, Rhino ino ect... THX1138 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 45 17-09-2003 02:09 PM
how to export in maya 5 to 3dsMax? otaku Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 6 05-09-2003 10:05 AM