Beer glass scene creation
This course contains a little bit of everything with modeling, UVing, texturing and dynamics in Maya, as well as compositing multilayered EXR's in Photoshop.
# 1 02-02-2007 , 08:57 AM
Subscriber

MAC vs PC

I don’t know if this is the right forum for this but here goes. I have been playing around with Maya for a few years and have decided to get serious with it this year and learn ZBrush. so before I buy my own version of Maya ( I use my room mates) and ZBrush, should I be thinking about switching to a Mac? I have a pretty up to date PC and high end Graphics card, I know Mac used to be the Graphic art standard but is it still? I see lots of plug in's for Maya for PC are there less for Mac? :bow:

# 2 02-02-2007 , 09:59 AM
Theres no difference, there is in the useability and this is where you will get the divide of opinion, to me Macs look pretty, but are limitted in the hardware, software (unless you want to run windows under bootcamp, hence whats the point of having 2 Os's??)

As for Graphics standard, I think lots of studios run Pc's more than Macs

"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
# 3 02-02-2007 , 01:45 PM
Subscriber
If I had the money to buy the latest g5 with those new woodcrest xeon processors. I would! They are the fastest processors on the planet. Every benchmark every where will show that.

www.papalati.com
# 4 02-02-2007 , 02:05 PM
Acid44
DONT BUY A MAC!!!!!!!!!!! THEY ARE THE OPITAMY OF EVILE

i say use good old windows its easier

# 5 02-02-2007 , 02:21 PM
Subscriber
Im not a MAC user, but I will just say this....

We as pc users have always been used to the windows format....

WINDOWS = DATABASE

...the same was for those of us who remember dos.

Now look at MAC OS, hierarchy...yes, but ever thing does not lie folder within folder with folder within subfolder, oh wait dont forget to uncheck hidden files and folders to find another group of folders with folders.