SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / SimplyMaya Tutorials / Simply Maya Tutorials / Downloading tut's in OS X

Simply Maya Tutorials This area is for questions and comments on our Video Training Library. We also welcome tutorial requests.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
23-03-2003, 01:17 AM   #1
silva
Subscriber
 
silva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 84
Downloading tut's in OS X
Hi, I normally used to download the tutorials in Win2k with no probs but my flatmate just bought an ibook and seeing as the universities library has an incredibly fast connection *nudge* *nudge* *wink* *wink* I thought I'd get a few of the larger tutorials that i've really been wanting to download from the library on the ibook, but when I try and download them it ends up downloading a *.pl file which I have no idea what it is, its the same size as the tutorial but I cant open it, ive tried renaming its extension to a zip like all the rest but no go. Is this a problem with the the IE for mac or just the simplymaya server not liking sending to macs? Any ideas how to fix this?
  Reply with quote
24-03-2003, 01:50 AM   #2
Principle
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Rename to .zip should work basically the file is the same when downloaded on a Mac it just ends up with the wrong file extension.

opps posted with a test account

David
  Reply with quote
05-04-2003, 06:06 AM   #3
silva
Subscriber
 
silva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 84
Ok I had a crack at that and basically its a no go.... when i download a file it calls it vip_download.pl , so i just go ahead and save it anyway.... xfer it over to my pc from the imac, rename it to a .zip but when i try and extract it i get an error, apparently the file iscorrupt.... any ideas? Happens whenever I try this...
  Reply with quote
05-04-2003, 01:38 PM   #4
tony
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 46
.pl on mac
i had the same problem on a mac using system 9.2.1 - got round it by just dragging the .pl file onto stuffit expander v6.0, and hey presto - windows movie gets unstuffed

hope this helps,
tony
  Reply with quote
06-04-2003, 12:36 AM   #5
silva
Subscriber
 
silva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 84
problem solved cheers tony.
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switching OS From 32-bit to 64-bit Tristanartform Maya Technical Issues 2 30-07-2009 03:12 PM
Maya 8.5 on Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard MediaSpinner Maya Technical Issues 15 15-10-2008 12:08 PM
Maya Crashing on Mac OS 10.5 krayzface Maya Technical Issues 2 17-09-2008 05:10 PM
OS X Maya 5 + Logitech mouse software prob imeepmeep Maya Technical Issues 3 16-08-2003 05:12 PM