SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 30-07-2003, 07:56 AM   #1
Arce
Registered User
 
Arce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 13
Default Mental Ray download

Hello,

I read that you'll need to download Mental Ray 1.5.1 for Maya 4.5 unlimited. Is it true that Mental Ray in not already in the 4.5 pakache? but only in the 5.0

AliasWavefront redisigned their website so the link to download Mental Ray was giving an error page.
I searched the whole site but could't find where to download Mental Ray.

Can someone give me some advice?

Thanks!!!
Arce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2003, 11:15 AM   #2
Arce
Registered User
 
Arce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 13
Default error on page

http://www.alias.com/eng/support/may...fm_1_5_1.jhtml

But there is something wrong with it!
Arce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2003, 12:03 AM   #3
Bryce
Registered User
 
Bryce's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Bremen / Germany
Posts: 89
Default

I can download it... Can I tell something else?
Uhh, yeah...

Got another probnlem, with the installation. He just creates a new folder somewhere else, not in the Maya 4.5 directory. So, I changed that, but it is not included in Maya...
Maybe itīs cause IRe-installed Win XP, but did not Re-install Maya?
__________________
Add me please
(I want to improve both english AND 3d skills)
MSN: Bryce5@gmx.net
Bryce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2003, 04:04 PM   #4
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Bryce
I can download it... Can I tell something else?
Uhh, yeah...

Got another probnlem, with the installation. He just creates a new folder somewhere else, not in the Maya 4.5 directory. So, I changed that, but it is not included in Maya...
Maybe itīs cause IRe-installed Win XP, but did not Re-install Maya?
yes, you should reinstall maya after reinstalling winxp. this way mr knows where it has to install itself ...
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2003, 04:07 PM   #5
Vampus
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Can us cheapskate PLErs use MR?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2003, 04:14 PM   #6
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Default Re: error on page

Quote:
Originally posted by Arce
http://www.alias.com/eng/support/may...fm_1_5_1.jhtml

But there is something wrong with it!
there is nothing wrong with it. i just downloaded it from the page and got it to install just fine. maybe you mistyped your username or password ??

hope that helps
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2003, 04:15 PM   #7
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Vampus
Can us cheapskate PLErs use MR?
nope, only works with commercial maya. in ple5 the maya rendering will be disabled - so unfortunatley not for ple users.

edit: i meant mental ray rendering is disabled in ple, not the maya default renderer (limited to 1024x768 w/ watermark).

Last edited by BabyDuck : 10-08-2003 at 04:31 PM.
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2003, 04:25 PM   #8
Vampus
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Are you serious? No one using PLE5 can render at all?!? How the heck are you meant to learn if you can't render?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2003, 04:29 PM   #9
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Vampus
Are you serious? No one using PLE5 can render at all?!? How the heck are you meant to learn if you can't render?
mental ray rendering is disabled, vector render is disabled, and i not sure if hardware render works. but the default maya renderer works (with a watermark).

p.s.: opps i just see that i put maya rendering in the other post - my bad
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2003, 04:50 PM   #10
Vampus
 
Posts: n/a
Default

*slaps Ducky for making him worry*
  Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off