SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Technical Issues / Windows 7 64/32 bit and Maya

Maya Technical Issues Post all your interface and configuration related problems with Maya software here.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
10-07-2010, 08:58 PM   #1
Anhslaught
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 490
Windows 7 64/32 bit and Maya
Hi Guys,

I was thinking about upgrading to Windows 7 and was wondering how compatiable it is with any of the Maya versions.

I'm thinking about upgrading to Maya 2011 64 bit, but might be running windows 7 32 bit.

Or should I just upgrade to windows 7 64 bit ?

Which should be the most reliable combination? Thanks!
  Reply with quote
10-07-2010, 09:25 PM   #2
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
I'm fairly sure you can't run a 64-bit app on a 32-bit OS. What 64-bit means is you can access a larger quantity of RAM for the program. If you've got a 64-bit system, sure, install Maya 64-bit. Out of curiousity, how much RAM do you have?

I run Win 7 64-bit and Maya 2009 64-bit, seems good for the most part.
  Reply with quote
11-07-2010, 01:25 AM   #3
Anhslaught
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 490
Yeah I'm already aware of what 64 bit means. I have under the 4 gigs of ram. The maximum 3.25 gig of rams windows xp 32 bit can recognize.

I haven't ran 64 bit OS's yet because I'm afraid of incompatibility among other softwares/drivers I use for multiple items.

So now I'm just curious how it works for those of you, who do you use it.

Last edited by Anhslaught; 11-07-2010 at 01:35 AM.
  Reply with quote
11-07-2010, 01:36 AM   #4
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,708
i am running a dual boot system with Win XP pro 32 bit and Win 7 64 bit..Im not sure if it's just me but i have to say Maya 2011 runs smoother and faster on the xp than it does for me on win 7 .Obviously the 64 bit is better for things like simulations ect where ram is needed but for general modeling i prefer the xp as i dont like the slight delay i get with win7.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
  Reply with quote
11-07-2010, 11:14 AM   #5
tweetytunes
Subscriber
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,456
Im running windows 7 64 with Maya 2011 64 and its running like a dream
__________________
  Reply with quote
11-07-2010, 07:13 PM   #6
Anhslaught
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 490
You guys happen to know if Maya crashing is caused by videocards?

I have a fireGL v5000 and my room is pretty hot. I bought a ATI HD4850, but my room temp can't handle it anymore as it keeps dying.
  Reply with quote
13-07-2010, 01:17 AM   #7
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
if its summer buy a cooling fan and aim it at the computer.., if its winter.., buy a new computer..,
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
  Reply with quote
04-12-2010, 03:37 AM   #8
mpk1058@gmail.com
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
can i install maya32bit on windows7-64bit
  Reply with quote
04-12-2010, 06:42 AM   #9
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
.., absolutely
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
  Reply with quote
05-12-2010, 05:14 PM   #10
Gen
Super Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,513
I've heard a few people say WinXP has a snappier reaction and I can believe that can happen in some cases due to hardware configs. However I'm running 2011 on Win7 and its all babycakes.

Maya crashes can be video card related. The hotter hardware gets, the slower it gets, until it gets to a point where it starts to malfunction. There's a min and max temp under which they should operate, if the room is nice and cool for you then its fine for the pc.
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
  Reply with quote
06-12-2010, 12:00 AM   #11
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,708
i run both XP and Windows 7 and Xp is definitely snappier but if you didn't have both to compare i doubt you would really notice that much.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
  Reply with quote
06-12-2010, 12:34 AM   #12
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
im running both.., windows 7 is bloated.., feels that way. XP has run for years no probs while 7 is a drag.., literally; it can be a drag waiting for response.
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
  Reply with quote
06-12-2010, 10:20 AM   #13
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
I am running both 2008 32 bit and 2011 64 bit on Win 7, they are both running great, no problems from either version

Jay
  Reply with quote
23-12-2010, 04:07 PM   #14
Joey81
Subscriber
 
Joey81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 244
I think if you ve a 64bit processor you should use 64bit operating system with 64bit programs.
I had 32bit windows 7 with 32bit maya... i had to save every 30minutes not to lose my progress It crash like 10times a day.

now with 64 bit everything crashes like once or twice a months....



(amd 4core, ati 4serie & maya 2009)
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Command window error on Maya 2012 filip321 Maya Technical Issues 0 04-11-2015 08:46 PM
64 bit windows vista Retoucher Maya Technical Issues 3 13-12-2008 04:12 AM
Maya 7 viewport surrealalucard Maya Technical Issues 1 02-12-2007 01:36 PM
Maya 7 onto my upgraded system?? Blayd Maya Technical Issues 4 02-02-2007 08:39 PM
Maya 7 PLE and Motionbuilder 7 PLE errethakbe Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 9 25-07-2006 02:14 AM