SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Please someone help, double vertices and faces

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
12-12-2009, 06:44 AM   #1
mid7464
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Please someone help, double vertices and faces
Guys I'm having trouble with my vertices, I created a model in polygons and I seem to have double vertices and double faces all around the model. If I try to extrude something I have to select the face with the marque tool because there's a replicated face behind it. Usually when you model theres only one face and one vertice, but somehow I I managed to double my faces and vertices. I'm not quite sure why this is happening, can anyone please help me out?
  Reply with quote
12-12-2009, 11:30 AM   #2
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
you probably selected the model and hit extrude and didn't move anything at some point
i hear it's a common thing that happens.

in that case you can't really do anything other than either delete all the outer faces (and i assume you'll have to reverse the normals of the other faces) or start all over again (although since your verts already exist in the position you want them to you can always just grab a plane and and verts and edges and point snap them.

just be careful not to use the extrude and not do anything in future and you'll never run into that problem
that or else you might have duplicated the face and not seperated the meshes or altered the duplicated faces after duplicating
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
  Reply with quote
12-12-2009, 04:45 PM   #3
mid7464
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Thanks for the help
Chirone thanks a whole lot, that was definitely the problem. Its no big deal to model over again, it was just bugging me that I couldn't find out the problem. Thanks again, a good luck with your modeling career.
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crazy black faces borlag Maya Modeling 8 04-02-2014 08:11 PM
Can no longer select faces, vertices or edge of a NURBS surface uzayr34 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 15-09-2013 12:08 AM
replace faces with vertices? Darkware Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 21-07-2013 05:08 AM
Can not select vertices or faces! akonron Maya Technical Issues 3 03-01-2010 07:04 PM
vertices selected with edges and faces hotpotato Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 12-08-2009 07:54 AM