SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Technical Issues / Maya 2016 doesn't import scenes properly

Maya Technical Issues Post all your interface and configuration related problems with Maya software here.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
13-03-2016, 03:31 PM   #1
Ruwenzori
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2
Maya 2016 doesn't import scenes properly
Hi,

I'm new to Maya and started taking online courses on lynda.com, but when i tried to import a scene as an exercise file, noticed that some textures were missing; and the problem kept occuring with other scenes as well. Then did cleans installs of both Windows and Maya, downloaded the compatible version of Mental Ray with Maya SP5 but still getting the exact same error and deformed scenes.

This is one of the scenes I'm supposed to work on,

it should like like it is on the picture above, but i'm getting the one in below.

I also attached the script editor report, if anyone can help with this I'd appreciate it, thanks in advance.
Attached Files
File Type: zip script.zip (1.3 KB, 43 views)
  Reply with quote
13-03-2016, 08:38 PM   #2
Gen
Super Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,515
On your keyboard press the '6' key, this tells the 3D view to show textures. I didn't see anything about Maya not being able to find the texture so I won't get into that. Just make sure you're using the latest service packs for both Maya and Mental Ray.
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
  Reply with quote
14-03-2016, 04:15 PM   #3
Ruwenzori
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2
Problem solved!(if you even consider it as a problem in the first place) turns out that it's always been me being a noob. i've been trying to open files without setting a project and poor maya was looking for textures elsewhere since the beginning

it's still very easy to face this issue though, if you're a beginner and too careless or impatient to start over your courses.
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fatal error in Maya 2016 when assigning a bump map to a mia_material_x Dylex Maya Technical Issues 2 24-05-2016 07:47 AM
How to Suspend or Batch render different scenes in Maya? Luc.Adriaens Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 9 10-09-2013 11:35 PM
Maya Doesn't Startup Properly - Just Script Editor threedsnack Maya Technical Issues 1 04-02-2008 11:55 AM
why my rigging system & control system of MAYA 5 doesnt work properly in MAYA 7? rroohhiitt Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 02-07-2006 08:23 AM
font and illustrator import into maya farbtopf Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 25-06-2006 11:58 AM