SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Your Work / Work In Progress / Walk cycle help?

Work In Progress Post your WIP here to get some feedback and critique from our other members.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
10-10-2007, 08:04 AM   #1
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Walk cycle help?
Hey guys

i created this walk cycle

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=63PpU3jbPiw

Im using this cycle to put in my animation. The character walks, comes to a stop then the blocking out stage comes into place.


I create a clip in the trax editor of the walk cycle, and posed my character after it finished and created a clip for it too. Then i merged the 2. This is the problem i get when merged.
Here is my result???

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kOtPXL5ylaY

I dont want to scrap my walk cycle, and there must be a way round this. thanx guys
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
  Reply with quote
10-10-2007, 08:29 AM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Looks good, but dude, chill on the number of posts for help.

I'm not too sure what your problem is??
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
  Reply with quote
10-10-2007, 10:57 AM   #3
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
soz, lol i jus figured the more sections i posted in the better chance id get a response. my bad


walk cycle, fine im reasonably happy so far
i want to make my walk translate forward...no problem.

however, after the walk has stopped, how do i animate my character after. im using the trax editor so i can create clips. if you look at the 2nd link, you will see what happens when he stops.
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
  Reply with quote
10-10-2007, 11:22 AM   #4
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
I don't have much experience with the trax editor but can you not just keyframe in between the walk and the stand animations.

Chris
  Reply with quote
10-10-2007, 11:29 AM   #5
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
i MAY have figured it out. im working it now so il post soon.

When i my walk finished, i left a gap of about 10 frames to be able to blend into my next clip. Thats where i think the problem occured.

Im trying it now by keyframing straight after the walk clip...who knows...il post soon.
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Walk cycle help? mr pix. Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 8 12-10-2007 12:51 AM
walk cycle prblm mr pix. Animation 0 10-10-2007 08:05 AM
Walk cycle... billenium_uk Animation 1 15-10-2005 11:09 PM
Walk Cycle Tut - Now what? Oculus Simply Maya Tutorials 3 14-04-2005 12:02 AM
Walk cycle misterdeak Work In Progress 2 21-03-2005 10:35 AM