SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / duplicate properly

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
20-09-2003, 04:05 PM   #1
flys
Registered User
 
flys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 49
duplicate properly
Hello guys this is my ploblem:
I have create one eye and apply to it
cluster deformers and a locator to control the blink
attribute. My problem is that i don't know how
duplicate it properly to create the other eye.

I have group all the elements then duplicate it
with the Duplicate Input Connections checked in
the Duplicate Options. The locator work properly,
but the new eyeball is one unusual blue sphere.

I've tried to duplicate it, checking the option
Duplicate Input Graph and the result is correct
but the new locator don't control his eyeball. Can
you help me ? I attach some pics to make easy
understand.

Thanks to all.
Attached Images
 
  Reply with quote
20-09-2003, 04:07 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
I would probably duplicate the eyeball and then apply your deformers after.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
  Reply with quote
20-09-2003, 04:08 PM   #3
flys
Registered User
 
flys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 49
second option:
Attached Images
 
  Reply with quote
20-09-2003, 04:13 PM   #4
flys
Registered User
 
flys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 49
hello Mike...you are a flash !!!
I try to make as you say

thank for reply.
  Reply with quote
20-09-2003, 07:46 PM   #5
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Just a guess but is that Neex?
  Reply with quote
20-09-2003, 11:42 PM   #6
flys
Registered User
 
flys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 49
Sorry but I don't understand. Who is Neex ?
  Reply with quote
21-09-2003, 12:38 AM   #7
Witchy
Subscriber
 
Witchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,254
He's an alien you can build using tutorials from a 3d site I believe.
  Reply with quote
21-09-2003, 01:28 AM   #8
flys
Registered User
 
flys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 49
oh...thank you Witchy, but no, I am trying to model Homer J. Simpson
Attached Images
 
  Reply with quote
21-09-2003, 03:53 PM   #9
flys
Registered User
 
flys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 49
I have resolved assigning the material newly to the duplicate sphere (with Input Connections), I don't know if is normal, but now all it works perfectly. Thanks to all
  Reply with quote
22-09-2003, 09:15 PM   #10
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
ah i was way off. oh and witchy is correct he is an alien you can build from tutorials.
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to duplicate a rig properly Cath Animation 0 29-11-2014 01:41 PM
duplicate problem rrduncan Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 15-11-2007 02:59 PM
Apply blendshapes to a duplicate model Tammy Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 09-08-2007 07:20 PM
Frustrating Odd (duplicate faces) problem Astinius Maya Modeling 11 11-07-2005 11:38 PM
Duplicate Upstream Graph? dexter10 Animation 1 17-12-2002 10:29 AM