Digital humans the art of the digital double
Ever wanted to know how digital doubles are created in the movie industry? This course will give you an insight into how it's done.
# 1 04-02-2008, 02:36 AM
threedsnack
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1

Maya Doesn't Startup Properly - Just Script Editor

Well with a deadline around the corner, this would be the exact best time for Maya to decide not to work. When I try to run it, all that appears when I boot it up is the script editor with bunch of commands saying that it fails to load them, and it never even loads the main Maya screen thingymajiger. Well acutally not that many errors now that I look at it, but it obviously isn't doin something right if the script editor is the only thing that pops up. I would VERY MUCH appreciate if somebody could tell me what's up with it. I was on just yesterday and it was working fine. Even when I open just the Maya app. without opening a file it still does the same thing. I tried restarting computer, still nothing. hmmmmm... very aggravating.

Here's what the Script editor says:

$gv_operationMode = "Open"; pv_performAction "/Users/lyndalan/Documents/maya/projects/default/scenes/Liver_IronLARGE.ma" "Best Guess";
file -f -options "v=0" -typ "mayaAscii" -o "/Users/lyndalan/Documents/maya/projects/default/scenes/Liver_IronLARGE.ma";addRecentFile("/Users/lyndalan/Documents/maya/projects/default/scenes/Liver_IronLARGE.ma", "mayaAscii");
updateRendererUI;
// File read in 14 seconds.
// Error: file: /Applications/Autodesk/maya2008/Maya.app/Contents/scripts/startup/buildNewSceneUI.mel line 344: Object not found: graphEditor //
// 1 //
// Error: file: /Applications/Autodesk/maya2008/Maya.app/Contents/scripts/others/loadNewShelf.mel line 100: Object not found: //
// mental ray for Maya 9.0
// mental ray for Maya: using startup file /Applications/Autodesk/maya2008/Maya.app/Contents/mentalray/maya.rayrc
// mental ray for Maya: setup
// mental ray for Maya: initialize
// mental ray for Maya: using 1 license
// mental ray for Maya: register extensions
// mental ray Node Factory: loaded
// mental ray for Maya: successfully registered
// mental ray for Maya: loading startup file: /Applications/Autodesk/maya2008/Maya.app/Contents/mentalray/maya.rayrc
// parsing /Applications/Autodesk/maya2008/Maya.app/Contents/mentalray/include/architectural.mi
// loading /Applications/Autodesk/maya2008/Maya.app/Contents/mentalray/lib/architectural.so
// generating Maya nodes...
// parsing /Applications/Autodesk/maya2008/Maya.app/Contents/mentalray/include/base.mi
// loading /Applications/Autodesk/maya2008/Maya.app/Contents/mentalray/lib/base.so
// generating Maya nodes...
// parsing /Applications/Autodesk/maya2008/Maya.app/Contents/mentalray/include/contour.mi
// loading /Applications/Autodesk/maya2008/Maya.app/Contents/mentalray/lib/contour.so
// generating Maya nodes...
// parsing /Applications/Autodesk/maya2008/Maya.app/Contents/mentalray/include/paint.mi
// loading /Applications/Autodesk/maya2008/Maya.app/Contents/mentalray/lib/paint.so
// generating Maya nodes...
// parsing /Applications/Autodesk/maya2008/Maya.app/Contents/mentalray/include/physics.mi
// loading /Applications/Autodesk/maya2008/Maya.app/Contents/mentalray/lib/physics.so
// generating Maya nodes...
// parsing /Applications/Autodesk/maya2008/Maya.app/Contents/mentalray/include/production.mi
// loading /Applications/Autodesk/maya2008/Maya.app/Contents/mentalray/lib/production.so
// generating Maya nodes...
// parsing /Applications/Autodesk/maya2008/Maya.app/Contents/mentalray/include/subsurface.mi
// loading /Applications/Autodesk/maya2008/Maya.app/Contents/mentalray/lib/subsurface.so
// generating Maya nodes...
// parsing /Applications/Autodesk/maya2008/Maya.app/Contents/mentalray/include/surfaceSampler.mi
// loading /Applications/Autodesk/maya2008/Maya.app/Contents/mentalray/lib/surfaceSampler.so
// generating Maya nodes...
updateRendererUI;
updateRendererUI;
// Error: file: /Applications/Autodesk/maya2008/Maya.app/Contents/scripts/others/mentalrayUI.mel line 1464: Object not found: mainRenderMenu //
// Error: file: /Applications/Autodesk/maya2008/Maya.app/Contents/scripts/others/addMenuItemSafe.mel line 63: Object not found: mainRenderMenu //


Thanks for the help! I'm really in a cram right now!

Nate

# 2 04-02-2008, 11:55 AM
gster123's Avatar
gster123
Moderator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Try deleteing your prefs than starting maya up, that might work for you.


"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Reply to this thread
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads