Maya for 3D Printing - Rapid Prototyping
In this course we're going to look at something a little different, creating technically accurate 3D printed parts.
# 1 01-06-2012, 10:25 AM
RockingStar
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3

Trouble with Transfer Maps

Hi there,

Im having trouble with the envelope function in the Transfer Maps window. I made a simple spaceship and created a UV Set of it with "Automatic Mapping". Now I want to bake a Diffuse, Normal and AO Map for it. In the Transfer Maps settings, Display is set to "Envelope" but whenever I move the slider of envelope, I get the Warning:

Point must be an array of 3 doubles and matrix must be an array of 16 doubles.

Im new to Transfer Maps and would be grateful for any help.

# 2 01-06-2012, 10:33 AM
petersrin
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 229
I'm new to them too, but I'm guessing you've got overlapping UVs since automap isn't going to, on its own, get you perfect uvs. Try throwing on a quick relax to the UVs just to see if it's overlap?


--
Peter Srinivasan
Producer
# 3 01-06-2012, 10:44 AM
RockingStar
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3

I'm new to them too, but I'm guessing you've got overlapping UVs since automap isn't going to, on its own, get you perfect uvs. Try throwing on a quick relax to the UVs just to see if it's overlap?

Originally Posted by petersrin View Post
That was my first thought either^^
I tried to do the same with two simple cubes, to see if it is the overlapping issue, but I still got the same Warning.

# 4 01-06-2012, 10:45 AM
daverave's Avatar
daverave
The thin red line
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472

Hi there,

Im having trouble with the envelope function in the Transfer Maps window. I made a simple spaceship and created a UV Set of it with "Automatic Mapping". Now I want to bake a Diffuse, Normal and AO Map for it. In the Transfer Maps settings, Display is set to "Envelope" but whenever I move the slider of envelope, I get the Warning:

Point must be an array of 3 doubles and matrix must be an array of 16 doubles.

Im new to Transfer Maps and would be grateful for any help.

Originally Posted by RockingStar View Post
I dont think there is any need to touch that setting, just tick the ones you want then change file size give that a go then see if you need to change any setting.............dave

Edit:If you have auto mapped it there will be no over lap




Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
# 5 01-06-2012, 11:15 AM
petersrin
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 229

Edit:If you have auto mapped it there will be no over lap

Originally Posted by daverave View Post
Cool. Just tried to automap strange shape. Didn't realize if it detects overlap it splits into multiple shells that way. Good to know

Now I gotta read this book next to me to figure out what the heck search envelopes are and why I don't need them.


--
Peter Srinivasan
Producer
# 6 01-06-2012, 01:07 PM
RockingStar
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3

I dont think there is any need to touch that setting, just tick the ones you want then change file size give that a go then see if you need to change any setting.............dave

Edit:If you have auto mapped it there will be no over lap

Originally Posted by daverave View Post
Thanks that worked for me. But just for the record. When do I need to envelope?
I just bought the Game Enviroments and Props book from Michael McKinley, where you build a brick wall in the first tutorial. He first builds an a HiRes brick wall and drags a plane inside it. Then he goes to the Transfer Maps window and adds the diffuse map where he uses the envelope function either. I first thought this would be a standart procedure for creating textures.

# 7 01-06-2012, 01:51 PM
petersrin
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 229
bbahaahahha! I have the SAME book and I was (and still am) confused by the SAME thing I was thinking of starting a thread.... can someone wiser help us understand the transfer map's Search envelope feature?


--
Peter Srinivasan
Producer
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Reply to this thread
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads