SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / image plane in side view

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
26-10-2004, 05:39 PM   #1
qwerty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 21
image plane in side view
hi
i have a nurbs surface and i loaded an image onto it using the hypershade and loading a jpg file on it. it appears fine in the perspective view but in the side view the image does not appear. its completely white. i have hardware texturing turned on. so why does that happen? could someone help please? thanx a lot.
  Reply with quote
26-10-2004, 06:35 PM   #2
goosemage
Registered User
 
goosemage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 50
Hit the number 6. Your probobly in smooth shaded mode.
  Reply with quote
26-10-2004, 09:33 PM   #3
Lifire
Registered User
 
Lifire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 68
To expand on what Goose said, each view has their own setting. When you select hardware texturing in perspective, it does not change it for the side view panel too. So in side view, do like Goosemage said and turn on hardware texturing.
__________________
"We don't actually need to know that the main character has a past. All we need to know is that he has an objective and a lot of people are going to die and a lot of innocent inanimate objects are going to be destroyed and blown up before he can complete that objective."
  Reply with quote
26-10-2004, 10:37 PM   #4
qwerty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 21
hi
i meant that i put hardware texturing on for side view as well. and by white i mean actually white....like instead of the normal grey. if i turn hardware texturing off in the side view then its grey...and when i turn it on, then the plane changes to white but the image does not appear. help please? thanx a lot.
  Reply with quote
26-10-2004, 11:09 PM   #5
Lifire
Registered User
 
Lifire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 68
You know, now that I think of it, sometimes I swear that I turned haardware texturing on, and it doesn't appear, and I'll toggle it back and forth, then open the attriubte editor and make sure everything is in place, and it still wouldn't show up. I reapplied the texture or shader and it worked... maybe a bug?
__________________
"We don't actually need to know that the main character has a past. All we need to know is that he has an objective and a lot of people are going to die and a lot of innocent inanimate objects are going to be destroyed and blown up before he can complete that objective."
  Reply with quote
26-10-2004, 11:16 PM   #6
qwerty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 21
wow thanx that actually worked...i went to file attributes and clicked 'reload file texture' and it appeared. thanx a lot.
  Reply with quote
27-10-2004, 01:09 AM   #7
Lifire
Registered User
 
Lifire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 68
Yeah, no problem, glad to give back to the community. Glad it worked too, lol. At least I know I wasn't hallucinating now.
__________________
"We don't actually need to know that the main character has a past. All we need to know is that he has an objective and a lot of people are going to die and a lot of innocent inanimate objects are going to be destroyed and blown up before he can complete that objective."
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
image plane banksta Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 18-05-2010 11:16 AM
import image to polygon plane aerende Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 05-08-2009 01:30 AM
Image plane not render in perspective ubuntu Maya Technical Issues 1 27-01-2008 03:12 AM
Image plane and sloooooonesss sjurick Lighting & Rendering 2 20-08-2004 08:49 PM