Maya 2020 fundamentals - modelling the real world
Get halfway through a model and find it's an unworkable mess? Can't add edge loops where you need them? Can't subdivide a mesh properly? If any of this sounds familiar check this course out.
# 1 02-05-2006 , 03:53 PM

Best way to learn maya 7.0?

Hi!

I'm really new to 3D (and Maya). I have the books:

Learning Maya 7: Foundation
Learning Maya 7: The Modelíng & Animation Handbook
Game Art For Teens (for maya)

Is it recommanded to buy all the books in this serie too?

{
Learning Maya 7: The Special Effects Handbook
Learning Maya 7: Unlimited Features
Learning Maya 7: Discover The Game With Alias
}

...or is there another better (and/or easier) way to learn the program?

Thanks/ Robin

Last edited by robinthebest; 02-05-2006 at 04:29 PM.
# 2 02-05-2006 , 04:10 PM
for me, i don't think there is any easy way of learning Maya...you just gotta keep on using maya over time and learn from your mistakes. But I do think, however, if you can, get somenoe who's really advance at Maya to teach you one on one, then that'll be another faster way to learn maya. But I think having some of the books are okay and a good start to begin with.

9 months into Maya...and still learning...
0 experience with any other 3D programs
# 3 03-05-2006 , 02:23 AM
time... time... time.

Practice makes perfect! I have been using Maya for about 2 years now, and still I am not pro at it!

So just learn how the main tools work, and then just do it over and over and over and eventually- you will get better as your experience grows.

Live the life you love, love the life you live
# 4 03-05-2006 , 03:46 AM
Subscriber
total newbie here as well

I purchased some video from some other site - sucked.

I like the videos here. I like McKinleys method of teaching that I even bought his book

The Game Artists Guide To Maya

look it up from his s/n

<div id="mo_text" onMouseOver="javascript: this.sytle.color="green">- Vic</div>
# 5 03-05-2006 , 11:05 PM
Subscriber