SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Selecting faces enclosed by edges

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
31-10-2006, 10:45 PM   #1
parka
Registered User
 
parka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 102
Selecting faces enclosed by edges
Is there any way to select the faces by selecting the edges that surround the faces?

E.g. How should I go about selecting the faces by using the edges. (See figure below).
Attached Images
 
  Reply with quote
01-11-2006, 01:43 AM   #2
colorado
Registered User
 
colorado's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: pueblo
Posts: 73
im sorry
im sorry but that doesent make much sense.why wouldent you just select the faces.if you select the edges then thats what your doing selecting edges.is there a reason you cant select the faces you want.just trying to get a better understanding so i can help.every face is enlosed with edges.you can delete the edges to make a biger face.
__________________
SWEET!
  Reply with quote
01-11-2006, 04:29 AM   #3
parka
Registered User
 
parka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 102
If it's just a small number of faces, selecting them directly as faces would be fast.

But if I want to select a huge number of faces, enclosed by their edges, I think selecting the edges and then converting the selection to faces would be faster. (This is because edge selection has tools like 1. Select Edge Loop Tool, 2. Select Edge Ring Tool and 3. Select Border Edge Tool.)
  Reply with quote
01-11-2006, 04:30 AM   #4
parka
Registered User
 
parka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 102
Maybe Paint Selection Tool might be faster...
  Reply with quote
01-11-2006, 07:32 AM   #5
parka
Registered User
 
parka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 102
Found a solution:

1. Select the edges first.
2. Then go to menu: Edit Polygons -> Selection -> Convert Selection to Vertices
3. Then go to menu: Edit Polygons -> Selection -> Convert Selection to Contained Faces
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Selecting Faces Problem danielchappelle Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 01-10-2012 06:11 PM
Selecting only visible vertex, edges or faces lecra Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 03-12-2011 09:20 PM
why have faces of 4 edges only? Chirone Simply Maya Tutorials 3 26-12-2007 11:33 PM
'to edge loop' --- not selecting edges ronviers Maya Modeling 4 14-11-2007 03:55 AM
Selecting faces without selecting the back faces jezzaH Maya Modeling 2 16-11-2004 03:50 PM