SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / texture image format

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
21-01-2007, 01:54 PM   #1
Thomps
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 29
texture image format
im saving my textures in photoshop in jpeg format but they dont look clear enough, is there a better format to save to or should i just use larger texture resolutions. once this is resolved i want the final rendered animation to be veiwed on a tv so i would like nice clear textures on my models.
any help would be much apprieciated.
  Reply with quote
21-01-2007, 02:04 PM   #2
enhzflep
Subscriber
 
enhzflep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 313
As it turns out, the great thing about jpegs is that they use lossey compression to squash the image down to a tiny size. This is great for pics on the web and ok for photos, but not too helpfull for texturemaps.

What you want to use is (a) a format that uses lossless compression or (b) an uncompressed format, with (a) being the prefferential one here.

You write that you're using photoshop, then just save em as TGAs of TIFFs and you'll be fine. Unfortunately, this means the file is _much_ bigger. But it's a necessary evil.

Much like DV-AVI vs MPEG....

And of course, keep a copy with all the layer info saved in .psd format.

Hope it helps,
Simon.
  Reply with quote
21-01-2007, 02:35 PM   #3
Thomps
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 29
brilliant. so i can continue to work with the jpeg format to check my textures, then i can use a TGA or TIFF for the final texture and get a result like how i see it in photoshop.
much thanks to you.
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stuck maya texture ??! lauris47 Lighting & Rendering 14 24-11-2012 09:29 AM
Maya 7 dissapearing texture for image plane. graphiac Maya Technical Issues 2 15-12-2006 10:37 PM
image sequence texture will not batch render peter.stenhouse Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 02-08-2006 08:14 PM
Texture upload Protheus Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 9 25-01-2004 12:14 AM
TGA image format slickrenderer Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 07-10-2003 09:06 AM