SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Technical Issues / Hull-like highlight selection problem

Maya Technical Issues Post all your interface and configuration related problems with Maya software here.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
14-10-2010, 06:04 PM   #1
Tristanartform
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 92
Hull-like highlight selection problem
Hi all. Using Maya 2009 on Precision 690, OS: XPx64 Pro.
8 Gigs RAM.

Yesterday while working on a file composed of polygon meshes I somehow inadvertently caused a change in the selection appearance of everything. Now, when I select any component of a polygon (verts, edges, faces) I get this yellow highlight around the area that looks simmilar to a nurbs hull (see attached jpegs). It's very annoying.

I've tried to figure out how I toggled on this feature so that I can toggle it off. Anyone know what I did and how to undo so I can go back to my preferred UI preferences?

It may have been some hotbox feature I accidentally clicked, but I can't seem to find anything that caused this. Any help would be very welcome. It's very annoying.

Thank you. T
  Reply with quote
14-10-2010, 06:16 PM   #2
Tristanartform
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 92
screen shot
having problems posting screen shots.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	hull-like-highlights-in-maya-screenshot-2-for-web.jpg
Views:	113
Size:	127.2 KB
ID:	44936  
  Reply with quote
14-10-2010, 06:17 PM   #3
Tristanartform
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 92
another screen shot
another
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	hull-like-highlights-in-maya-screenshot-for-web.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	130.6 KB
ID:	44937  
  Reply with quote
14-10-2010, 06:51 PM   #4
Johndoe050
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 78
I don't know for sure but it looks like you have "Soft select" on. If that is the case you go to the top right and hit the middle icon. And toggel soft select off.
  Reply with quote
14-10-2010, 06:53 PM   #5
David
SM Site Programmer
 
David's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,154
Turn off soft selection

Dave
__________________
Worst Response To A Crisis:
From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
  Reply with quote
14-10-2010, 07:33 PM   #6
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
And just to say it again "sooooooofffft select"...

It's only funny because everyone runs into this problem... I don't know why it isn't on the quick start screen. You hit 'b' to toggle it on or off.
  Reply with quote
14-10-2010, 08:11 PM   #7
Tristanartform
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 92
That was it. Thanks everyone.

T
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
trouble opening maya scene jooleyinboots Maya Technical Issues 2 03-02-2014 09:11 PM
Nurbs selection problem - maya 2013 okonek90 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 19-02-2013 08:02 PM
Problem when switching to soft selection mode Skalman Maya Technical Issues 2 23-04-2012 08:50 PM
Error Message on Open :( Jazzy Maya Technical Issues 2 26-08-2007 05:10 PM
Batch render does not render e-anima Lighting & Rendering 15 01-02-2007 12:30 AM