SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Programming / asign sliderFunction to costum window

Programming MEL Scripts, Expressions & Programming Related Topics

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
30-07-2008, 11:18 PM   #1
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
asign sliderFunction to costum window
first of all - please dont kick my ass. I know this is a very basic question where one usually would point to the docs.

fact is - maya´s helpfiles dont work. exept for some 1 example code every testWindow example file returns a error in the very first lines, like


window ExampleWindow1;
columnLayout;
button -label "Button 1";
button -label "Button 2";
rowColumnLayout -numberOfColumns 2;
text -label "Name:";
textField;
text -label "City:";
textField;
setParent ..;
checkBox -label "Lights ";
checkBox -label "Camera ";
checkBox -label "Action ";
showWindow ExampleWindow1;


// Error: line 1: Object's name is not unique: ExampleWindow1 //



or



window -width 200 -title "Test Window" ExampleWindow5;
columnLayout;
// Create the button.
//
string $button = ‘button -label "Initial Label"‘;
// Add the command.
//
string $buttonCmd;
$buttonCmd = ("button -edit -label \"Final Label\" " + $button);
button -edit -command $buttonCmd $button;
showWindow ExampleWindow5;

// Error: string $button = ‘button -label "Initial Label"‘; //
// Error: Line 5.22: Syntax error //



since I dont know if i did somehow wrong with copy'n pasting text from helpFiles to SE, I suppose the helpfiles are crap!





now to my problem:

I need a window with like 8 sliders and asign to each slider an offset value from IK_pointConstraints like

setAttr "ikRightLeg_pointConstraint1.offsetX";

with a min and a max value ofc.




I had a look at the Dann´s thread and at his script too. this is still rocket science for me. any hints are much appreciated. this is what I have so far


window ikOffsets;

// define sliders
frameLayout -label "ikRightLeg" -labelAlign "top" ....
.
.
.
.
.

showWindow ikOffsets;




XD

don´t beat me as I said, I´ll keep on working through F1
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
  Reply with quote
30-07-2008, 11:50 PM   #2
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
i found a start which is more appropriate to fit my needs i think


window ikOffsets;

columnLayout -adjustableColumn true;

text -label "Slider";

intSlider -min -100 -max 100 -value 0 -step 1;


showWindow ikOffsets;


now i have to get ridd of this error

// Error: line 1: Object's name is not unique: ikOffsets //


+ I want an additional numeric input field for the same value the slider is working with.


still need help here
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
  Reply with quote
31-07-2008, 12:07 AM   #3
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
some problems solved,
still todo: connect attr with slider..




$window = `window`;
columnLayout;
text -label "ikOffsets";

floatSliderGrp -label "ikRightLeg" -field true
-min -0.1 -max 0.1 -step 0.01 -value 0
-changeCommand "changeSlider" ikRightLegSlider;

floatSliderGrp -label "ikRightFoot" -field true
-min -0.1 -max 0.1 -step 0.01 -value 0
-changeCommand "changeSlider" ikRightFootSlider;

floatSliderGrp -label "ikRightToe" -field true
-min -0.1 -max 0.1 -step 0.01 -value 0
-changeCommand "changeSlider" ikRightToeSlider;

floatSliderGrp -label "ikRightToe_end" -field true
-min -0.1 -max 0.1 -step 0.01 -value 0
-changeCommand "changeSlider" ikRightToe_endSlider;




floatSliderGrp -label "ikLeftLeg" -field true
-min -0.1 -max 0.1 -step 0.01 -value 0
-changeCommand "changeSlider" ikLeftLegSlider;

floatSliderGrp -label "ikLeftFoot" -field true
-min -0.1 -max 0.1 -step 0.01 -value 0
-changeCommand "changeSlider" ikLeftFootSlider;

floatSliderGrp -label "ikLeftToe" -field true
-min -0.1 -max 0.1 -step 0.01 -value 0
-changeCommand "changeSlider" ikLeftToeSlider;

floatSliderGrp -label "ikLeftToe_end" -field true
-min -0.1 -max 0.1 -step 0.01 -value 0
-changeCommand "changeSlider" ikLeftToe_endSlider;




showWindow;
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Management of GUI window elements Grimt Programming 3 12-04-2014 09:10 PM
changing the "Quick help" window size in the maya 2012 script editor. Jouri Programming 3 27-11-2011 06:15 AM
The output Window abed Maya Technical Issues 1 29-09-2007 09:57 AM
Size Of A Window skywola Programming 2 25-03-2006 05:37 PM
if window -ex prob! ne idea lalamax3d Programming 2 30-04-2003 12:26 PM