SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 17-12-2007, 10:45 AM   #1
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default River making ?

Any one know a good technique how i can make a realistic river to flow slowly ? I want some good effect ... i know i must use dynamics .. but don't know where to start ? i search in google but nothing find ... :zzz:
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2007, 06:54 PM   #2
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

without spending out money, im a bit useless as i am using realflow as a plugin, if you can afford one like a student one its a godsend (obviously) for things like this!

However, other than realflow i dont know. I did though, find this post on another forum. Posted by someone called Olcho.

he said:

'For the river itself I believe you could use a texture - usually an animated bump and/or displacement (sometimes you don't even need displacement) will do the trick. If you want to make foam, then the textures will be more complex, but that's the way I woud go.

Now for the integration of floating objects there's a very cool trick, using Fluids. Make a 2D fluid container with the Y size big enough to cover all the river and the riverbed, remove everything but the velocity. Paint some velocity to mimic the river flow direction. If you want to add some logs to float in the river, make them rigid bodies and connect them to the fluid force. If you have rocks in the river, you can make them collision objects with the fluids and the velocity will work its way around the rocks. If you want the logs and rocks to "emit" foam while they are in the river, you can make a 2D fluid texture and connect it to the river's color, bump and may be incandescence - you can pretty much experiment with all that stuff.
There's actually a very good video tutorial I think from Gnomon that describes all that - very cool stuff'


Hope this helps sorry
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2007, 08:48 PM   #3
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Ok i have realflow i don't spend money .. don't ask me how i get it ... so can you be more specific of making river ? With realflow : ):blush:
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2007, 09:21 PM   #4
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

ok what version of realflow have you got?
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2007, 03:28 AM   #5
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

RealFlow 4 i saw in the folder there are smth like plugins for Maya ,3Dsmax etc .. :zzz:
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2007, 06:29 AM   #6
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

have you got the full version? You will need to install mesh plugins and particle plugins first then il give u a walkthrough ...(or try my best) lol
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2007, 08:32 AM   #7
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

That's what i have
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	1086
Size:	75.5 KB
ID:	37669  
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2007, 08:35 AM   #8
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

And realflow
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	1084
Size:	104.3 KB
ID:	37670  
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2007, 10:40 AM   #9
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

ok dude.

Well assuming your plugins are loaded, il begin. Im just simulating the last bit now, so i can show you. I dont a kinda step by step guide for you with screens shots.

Its not that hard when you get the hang of it. It should be ready very soon, like an hour
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2007, 10:42 AM   #10
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

i meant to say, im DOING*** a step by step lol
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2007, 02:42 PM   #11
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Im assuming you have your mesh ready from Maya.

Ok, first you export your mesh. I.e your ground and what ever else is coming in contact with the water. Make sure everything is triangulated and the history is cleared, the pivots are centred, and freeze transformations.

2) File > Export all > export as SD file

3) Open Realflow. Click on this button and import your SD Scene.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	step8_importing sd scene.jpg
Views:	1070
Size:	53.1 KB
ID:	37674  
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2007, 02:52 PM   #12
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Now you need to create a circle emitter
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	step13_creating an emmitor.jpg
Views:	1073
Size:	82.7 KB
ID:	37675  
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2007, 02:54 PM   #13
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

position it as follows using the move and rotate tool top left.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	step14_positioning the emittor.jpg
Views:	1072
Size:	254.0 KB
ID:	37676  
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2007, 02:56 PM   #14
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

with the circle emitter still selected, copy these values on the right
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	step15_copy these values.jpg
Views:	1069
Size:	74.4 KB
ID:	37677  
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2007, 02:59 PM   #15
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

now select the mesh and copy these values...BY THE WAY>...these values are based on something thats relitively the same size, do not copy exactly, i trust you can play around and creating some stunning results...anyway............
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	step16_copy these values.jpg
Views:	1065
Size:	100.6 KB
ID:	37678  
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.