SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / question about scaling objects

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
14-10-2004, 12:11 AM   #1
vion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
question about scaling objects
I was hoping someone with a few minutes might be able to help me out. I am interested in using maya for pc game development and have started working on making skyscraper models. My main question is how to figure out how to scale your objects to a "life like" size. For example... the same size buildings used in GTA vice city. When I am making my models, I've noticed once I scale them to a certain size, they start to dissapear from the viewplane. Is there a setting I can change or am I missing a fundamental concept here? Do I need to make all my models independently and import them into some sort of gaming engine like ut2004 level editor? Any advice would be appreciated and if anyone has any maya specific links for pc game development that would be awesome.. Thanxs
  Reply with quote
14-10-2004, 12:26 AM   #2
Phopojijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 408
You need to adjust the draw distance of the camera... I'm not sure exaaaaaactly what the setting is off hand... but its possible through maya.
  Reply with quote
14-10-2004, 12:32 AM   #3
vion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
thanxs for the reply
thanxs for the fast reply and will look into it. Also, if you happen to know, I am interested in creating large scale outdoor environments. Is this possible using maya or do I need to go with other software like animatek world builder. Thanxs again
  Reply with quote
14-10-2004, 01:59 AM   #4
Phopojijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 408
Heh, I'm a bit of a newbie to Maya, but from what I've seen it can do large scale outdoor pictures... but will it be your best option?

And I actually got the menu combination now -- (in the viewing window of whatever camera you want to increase the draw distance of)

View -> Camera Attribute Editor -> Far clip plane (set this value to the maximum draw distance of the camera)

As for Maya's outdoors capacities:

http://www.highend3d.com/artists/art...oanala&iid=194

Last edited by Phopojijo; 14-10-2004 at 02:03 AM.
  Reply with quote
14-10-2004, 10:02 AM   #5
goosemage
Registered User
 
goosemage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 50
I forgot how to do it this second but you might try using different units of measurement. You can probobly find how to change this in the help>contents and search.
  Reply with quote
15-10-2004, 01:17 PM   #6
lisa_gonzalez
Subscriber
 
lisa_gonzalez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 301
Hey Vion.

You just need to alter the values for the far clip plane if you find your scene is disappearing. Select the relative camera where the scene is disappearing, activate the attribute editor, then boost it up to about 1000 - 3000, I find this ample. If it still is looking wierd, the near clip plane may also need adjusting, try setting this to a higher number too, such as 0.5.

Where I work we have to create a lot of scenes to scale. We use a scale of 1/10th, which is really good. If your building is, say, 200m high, simply divide by 10 to get the distance in maya units...apply this to everything to get a nicely scaled scene.

Hope this helps.

LisaG
__________________
When in doubt......smile!

http://www.x-menthelaststand.com/
  Reply with quote
15-10-2004, 01:31 PM   #7
vion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
thanxs for the help everyone
thanxs for the help everyone.. I tried the methods above and got everything working as I need it I think I'm god to go for now. Hopefully i will have something to post/share soon and can get some constructive criticism. Have a good one....
  Reply with quote
15-10-2004, 02:19 PM   #8
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
probably the easiest thing to do to determine scale from maya to the game is to use the grid in Maya and assume that each one is a foot or yard or whatever. Scale an object (cube is easy) as it should be with that assumption and export it into the game.

In the game, check it's size compared to an object in the game of the same size you want. Make a note of the difference, if any, and calculate your objects like so from then on.

So, for example, if a cube six units tall is exported into the game and is about the size of a character, you can assume 6 units is approx. 6 feet and go from there.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
objects around character question Skalman Animation 1 14-01-2014 09:29 PM
Weird question re discrete scaling boybokeh Maya Modeling 1 16-09-2013 02:05 PM
Question about creating objects thewrongvine Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 7 20-08-2013 03:30 PM
question about attaching objects Rhetoric Camel Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 10-04-2007 02:02 AM
Newbie question about polySmoothing multiple objects.. Goran Programming 4 08-12-2004 08:53 PM