SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Work Possiblities!!

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
11-09-2011, 03:46 PM   #1
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,279
Work Possiblities!!
Hey All

I thought I'd post this up http://www.aniboom.com/

its basically a virtual studio, and you work on real live projects if you are selected. You need to register your skillsets, Modelling, Animation and all that first, and it may be a place where you can get work from and do in your own home, the great thing is, its tv and film related, and the clients are for example 20th century fox amongst others. I thought this may be useful for those wanting to work/or are in the industry and are having a bit of trouble getting work or even that first foot in the door. This could possibly put a few things on the CV and get you going.

anyway check it out first, its pretty neat.

Jay
  Reply with quote
11-09-2011, 03:59 PM   #2
tweetytunes
Subscriber
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,457
Many Thx - just need me internet back now
__________________
  Reply with quote
11-09-2011, 04:23 PM   #3
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,279
No probs, get it sorted and get registered

J
  Reply with quote
11-09-2011, 05:32 PM   #4
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks for the link Jay, just signed up.

Would be interesting to hear if anyone has worked for them before, or know anyone who has - Jay?

cheers

gubar
  Reply with quote
23-09-2011, 10:51 PM   #5
joverall22
Lifetime Member
 
joverall22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 306
Jay what is the process for being able to submit tutorial videos to SimplyMaya I have learned a lot from the community here and I would be interested in possibly submitting some of my work and tutorials. Do I have to do a video tutorial or can we do PDF tutorials as well?

Sorry if this is the wrong forum for this type of question.

Thanks

Jake
  Reply with quote
23-09-2011, 11:28 PM   #6
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,279
joverall

Well its down to David really he is the owner. Basically if he sees somebody with the potential to do a tute he'll ask you. You can approach him though, he is a very approachable guy. Just PM him see what he says. I think he would like to see some stuff from you first anyway, you have only posted 3 times so it doesnt tell him much - Im sure you understand. Because I work in the industry too it kind of works that way, I have experience of film and tv so I can share little bits and pieces that you wont find in a manual - that kind of thing, show you how to get the best out of the software with minimal fuss and all that. Anyway Just give him a shout, he'll be fine

Jay
  Reply with quote
24-09-2011, 12:07 AM   #7
joverall22
Lifetime Member
 
joverall22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 306
Thanks I have been following SimplyMaya for the past five years but I didn't feel like 3d would ever be anything more than a hobby for me until very recently I've decided I have to at least try to make it in the Animation world.

Jake
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Human IK - floor contact doesn't work with certain meshes? WHY? Etienne79 Animation 1 08-03-2014 11:37 AM
Work from my Maya Class that needs Critique fragnog Work In Progress 6 04-05-2012 07:57 PM
Gonomo work shop tutorial mayacreation2004 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 03-10-2004 12:06 AM
subdiv > polygon - split polygon doesn't work? soulcialism Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 5 01-12-2003 08:18 PM
Direct X exporter wont work :( BabyDuck Maya Technical Issues 0 07-01-2003 08:53 PM