SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Render all

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
Page 1 of 2 1 2
 
Thread Tools
25-05-2003, 09:08 AM   #1
Bryce
Registered User
 
Bryce's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Bremen / Germany
Posts: 89
Render all
Hey Guys, my second post in this forum!
I´ve got a scene, which includes Emitter. Now, i want to render it as an animation, with those emitters spraying. My problem is, that I just don´t know how...
Really, I feel like a big dumbass because of that, but always when I do the Batch Render it only shows me the Texture, Shadow, etc.. So, how to render just all of it?

Just to let you know: I departed my manual...
__________________
Add me please
(I want to improve both english AND 3d skills)
MSN: Bryce5@gmx.net
  Reply with quote
25-05-2003, 10:57 AM   #2
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
just an idea - but are you sure you changed the type of the particles to software (s/w) - as the others wont be able to render in software.
  Reply with quote
25-05-2003, 11:20 AM   #3
Bryce
Registered User
 
Bryce's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Bremen / Germany
Posts: 89
No, I´m sure I did not. But could you tell me where I can? *feels like an idiot*
And, write in 2 languages, so I can better understand you!
__________________
Add me please
(I want to improve both english AND 3d skills)
MSN: Bryce5@gmx.net
  Reply with quote
25-05-2003, 01:50 PM   #4
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
select the particles and than go to your attrubute editor

scroll down to render type

check what your render type is set to in the small drop down menu.

Anything with a s/w at the end can be done in the Maya software render.

All the others are hardware render, so you must use the render buffer or Hardware renderer in Maya 5.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	untitled-1 copy.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	80.9 KB
ID:	7249  
  Reply with quote
25-05-2003, 04:41 PM   #5
Bryce
Registered User
 
Bryce's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Bremen / Germany
Posts: 89
Okay, thx!
So, (because I have Maya 4.5) it means I can´t do some of the particle effects... Oh...
Thanks for help!
__________________
Add me please
(I want to improve both english AND 3d skills)
MSN: Bryce5@gmx.net
  Reply with quote
25-05-2003, 08:28 PM   #6
ragecgi
Registered User
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
No, this is the way it is for Maya in general

All roach105 is saying is that if you wanna render in your regular Maya render view, ( this is known as the software renderer), you have to choose a particle render type that has the little S/W after the name.

All others need to be rendered via the Hardware Render Buffer.

Check the docs for rendering certain particle types by looking in the RENDERING and also the DYNAMICS sections of the docs

It will explain all there Good luck!
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
  Reply with quote
25-05-2003, 09:43 PM   #7
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Quote:
Originally posted by Bryce
No, I´m sure I did not. But could you tell me where I can? *feels like an idiot*
And, write in 2 languages, so I can better understand you!
i can try that - did not notice you are from germany as well. to be honest, if i write something in german, it sounds awefull. i think i am not practicing enough german no more - i will be immigrating to the usa next month (if there wont be a delay from the consulate). i am no expert in particles - it was just a guess as i had the same problem once. and i am glad the other posts could explain the thing better then i could have.

and just for the heck of it - something in foreign language (basically what i said above with some comments) :

ich kann versuchen zweisprachig zu antworten, aber erwarte keine wunder auf deutsch. in letzter zeit hab ich viel zu wenig mit deutsch zu tun, weil ich naechsten monat auswandere und in die staaten einwandere. naja, falls nix dazwischen kommt. von den anderen antworten solltest du genuegend verstanden haben um nachzusehen ob es der fehler mit partikel typ war. ich hielt das s/w erst fuer schwarz/weiss - haeh? *kopfkratz* - nene - muss was anderes sein - also handbuch fragen.
  Reply with quote
25-05-2003, 09:57 PM   #8
^^TwEeK^^
Registered User
 
^^TwEeK^^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 357
Quote:
Originally posted by BabyDuck
ich kann versuchen zweisprachig zu antworten, aber erwarte keine wunder auf deutsch. in letzter zeit hab ich viel zu wenig mit deutsch zu tun, weil ich naechsten monat auswandere und in die staaten einwandere. naja, falls nix dazwischen kommt. von den anderen antworten solltest du genuegend verstanden haben um nachzusehen ob es der fehler mit partikel typ war. ich hielt das s/w erst fuer schwarz/weiss - haeh? *kopfkratz* - nene - muss was anderes sein - also handbuch fragen.

Interesting............
__________________
- TwEeK
  Reply with quote
25-05-2003, 10:27 PM   #9
ragecgi
Registered User
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Cool

I wish I knew another language...

Anyhoo, Hey Babyduck! WHere are you going to be living in the us?
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
  Reply with quote
25-05-2003, 10:37 PM   #10
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Quote:
Originally posted by ragecgi
Cool

I wish I knew another language...

Anyhoo, Hey Babyduck! WHere are you going to be living in the us?
i am going to be in northern ohio in williams county. not much computer companies there - but hey - it is more important to me to be with my future wife (right now fiancee) than to have to relocate. and i lost my attitude to have a really good paid job as first priority. love has strange powers - one thing is that i will break up my computer science study here to be with my sweetie. but i will keep 3d as a hobby - and no longer as preparation for a job. i had really low chances anyway as i dont have any traditional art skills.

thanks for asking
  Reply with quote
25-05-2003, 10:41 PM   #11
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Quote:
Originally posted by ^^TwEeK^^
Interesting............
sorry did not mean to confuse you. i said in the sentence just before talking in german that it is basically what i said above with some comments. you want me to translate it again to english? i actually translated it once to german from my paragraph in english. and believe it or not, but translating to german was not that easy. i never thought the words in german before i translated them - so it was like translating into a foreign language before you learned to actually think in that language.
  Reply with quote
25-05-2003, 10:59 PM   #12
^^TwEeK^^
Registered User
 
^^TwEeK^^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 357
i know exactly what you mean ....
its the same for me with english and hebrew
__________________
- TwEeK

Last edited by ^^TwEeK^^; 26-05-2003 at 12:57 AM.
  Reply with quote
26-05-2003, 12:56 AM   #13
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Dejen la habladera en otro idioma.
¿Estamos claros?
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

  Reply with quote
26-05-2003, 01:52 AM   #14
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
hay adl...is that Spanish. I learned spanish for 3 years in school...can hardly remember a word now, well...maybe a few.
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
  Reply with quote
26-05-2003, 09:26 AM   #15
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
ooh cool, i leant german for 5 years, i managed to understand .. most of what ya said back there (although i was not v good at it at all) its great to see we have people from all around the world here.
__________________
FX supervisor - double negative
  Reply with quote
Reply
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I render very large images in Maya? gundz Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 01-08-2011 09:09 PM
Batch Render Issue skippyk39 Lighting & Rendering 4 09-07-2011 09:48 PM
Err! (Render Problems) snowman Maya Technical Issues 5 14-09-2007 11:45 AM
Batch Render Problem mayakid14 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 22-08-2005 03:43 PM