SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2008, 02:25 PM   #1
leotikansas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: bet you could guess
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default fur color

hello again to everyone!

I have been at this 3d thing for about 3 years now and really have exploded in the last year (as I now have a job that allows me to sleep for 35 of my work hours).

anyway I have many projects that I have started and dropped and they have served me well for experiencing issues that I would not have even considered to learn workarounds for.

however when I am able to do something at some point and then not recreate it later no matter what I do, it drives me mad.

any rate I am now working on a realistic giraffe (as it is my 3yr old daughter's favorite animal) too late for long story short, but I am trying to set the fur color by using the same file that is my texture color (giraffe spots & such).

so I have mapped that file into:
base color, tip color, base ambient, tip ambient, and specular color.

I have also tried a render in between assigning each one. but no matter what I try I just get a render with black fur.

I have also tried creating a directional light at different settings.
tried mental ray and software renders.

I also tried setting up a new scene and used a polySphere and a different color map but no matter what ... black fur.

does anyone have any guesses as to what I did before that I am not doing now?

I have always admired the work posted here and the willingness to help by the people here.
Infinite thanks.
leotikansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 02:52 PM   #2
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

without the fur attached to the model does the render of the giraffe show its spots correctly?
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2008, 12:02 AM   #3
leotikansas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: bet you could guess
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yes actually it does. but without the fur it looks like a toy giraffe.:headbang:
leotikansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2008, 02:25 AM   #4
happymat27
Subscriber
 
happymat27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Hey there leotikansas,

I made THIS tutorial a while back to explain simply how to map attributes in fur.

Hopefully you might find something useful in it.

Take it easy,

Mat.
__________________
Click here to visit my site
happymat27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2008, 12:53 PM   #5
leotikansas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: bet you could guess
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am embarassed to say that I simply forgot to press the bake button.#@$%#@!!!!

so this is just for test fur as my modeling is not really done yet.
I have one directional light overhead and one spotlight behind the camera and the default light is disabled in render settings.

but for some wierd? reason the underside fur is highlighted.

without the fur attached these areas are BLACK.

my ambient colors are black...what might I be missing this time?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	giraffe.jpg
Views:	286
Size:	17.2 KB
ID:	38491  
leotikansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2008, 01:22 PM   #6
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

do you have 'enable default light' turned off?
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2008, 01:24 PM   #7
leotikansas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: bet you could guess
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yes default light is off.. I thought of that.
leotikansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2008, 03:44 PM   #8
happymat27
Subscriber
 
happymat27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Often a new light is created with the fur, it could be that.... you can see a directional light is created with the duck fur example I used on the tutoriall..... check the outliner or hypergraph for any lights that you've not created yourself, they could be child of the fur node.

Good luck,

Mat
__________________
Click here to visit my site
happymat27 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open Challenge -Jerry Can Texturing honestdom Battle Arena 77 03-12-2010 12:20 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.