SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / New User. Sketchup editiing in Maya

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
08-02-2011, 07:15 PM   #1
KaisoArt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 15
New User. Sketchup editiing in Maya
I'm new to Maya and taking a basic class. I use AutoCad and Sketchup daily. I'd like to know if anyone here models in Sketchup, imports the models and animates in Maya. My work is really architecture based and the speed of modeling in SU is very important. I have imported one of my SU models into Maya and it worked great. However, I was trying to find how to add subdivisions in a face but could not. I doubt I would do much actual editing of SU models in Maya but I like to know how. Again I'm still in the introduction stages with Maya so I could be missing some obvious things.
  Reply with quote
08-02-2011, 07:28 PM   #2
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
I'm not sure exactly what you're asking, but you can add divisions to a face in a few different ways. One way is to smooth the model, which adds subdivisions to all faces (might not be what you want). You can use the split polygon tool, which is probably the way you want, or even the cut faces tool, which slices a new edge through the whole model.
  Reply with quote
08-02-2011, 07:37 PM   #3
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
i always find with sketchUp models that it is easier to light and texture them if they are separate layers in sketchUp. That program is quick, but spits out some ugly geometry.

(or maybe its just my girlfriends models.)
  Reply with quote
08-02-2011, 07:55 PM   #4
KaisoArt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 15
Thanks for the quick replies. I think the split/slice might be what I need. Haven't addressed that tool yet.

SU is really quick and easy--and even more easy to ignore good object organization. This then transfers wherever it is imported.

I've read a tutorial about importing SU files and that worked well. The writer did talk about setting up the hierarchy for the import into Maya. I did not do any of that though. I understand the parent/child elements, but wonder if my SU methods might not work exactly right. Here is what I do

In SU the safest and fastest way to work is to draw everything on layer 1. Then after the objects are completed, group and/or component-ize them. I then make separate layers for the group/components and move them to their own layer. e.g a walls layer, a floor layer etc. I expect that within Maya I can then assign Parent/child attributes. e.g., wall parent with railing as the child.

Anyway, I'll try to play with this further.
  Reply with quote
02-03-2011, 06:56 AM   #5
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks KA I have never seen sketchup...just DL the free one...interesting!
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error Reading File... HELP ME PLEASE roryfollansbee Challenge Forum 1 16-04-2016 09:00 AM
HELP PLEASE Dushyant Maya Technical Issues 12 25-08-2012 08:49 AM
changing the "Quick help" window size in the maya 2012 script editor. Jouri Programming 3 27-11-2011 06:15 AM
Maya vs. 3DS, Light Wave, Rhino ino ect... THX1138 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 45 17-09-2003 02:09 PM
First time Maya User mshoward82 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 25-01-2003 01:11 AM