SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Your Work / Work In Progress / My living room

Work In Progress Post your WIP here to get some feedback and critique from our other members.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 Last »
 
Thread Tools
25-11-2006, 03:32 AM   #1
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
My living room
Have been modeling my living room this week, and rendered it in Maxwell. Still a lot of things missing. The renders turn out great, but maaaaan does it takes time to render indoors in Maxwell. This pic has run for 60 hours and still there are some noise.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	room1.jpg
Views:	535
Size:	113.0 KB
ID:	31610  
  Reply with quote
25-11-2006, 04:02 AM   #2
I-Iybrid
Simply Maya OG
 
I-Iybrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Queensbury NY, US A
Posts: 1,438
Looks good so far. But damn...60 hours?!?!
__________________
- Hybrid
  Reply with quote
25-11-2006, 04:54 AM   #3
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
What the heck is the point to make a 60 hour img???? there no way you can use this in videos well this renderer...
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
  Reply with quote
25-11-2006, 07:37 AM   #4
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
I'm not going to do a movie so for me it doesn't matter.
  Reply with quote
25-11-2006, 09:48 AM   #5
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Indeed but what is the point of that renderer??
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
  Reply with quote
25-11-2006, 11:06 AM   #6
Hellspawnuk
Subscriber
 
Hellspawnuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Newport, Wales
Posts: 72
I think you need to tweak the settings, no way should it take 60 hours and still have visible noise.

On another note, the scene is very good. Nice living room :p
  Reply with quote
25-11-2006, 12:32 PM   #7
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
.., or take a photo. looks like one except the noise. 60 hours?? you got us all amazed; and i thought there was nothing new under the sun. you can cache the shadows (although i don't remember seeing any, cant see from the reply window) and that should save time?? or get a new CPU?? 60 hours?? my computer would have restarted by then.., you must have given your heaps.
looks great though, different strokes for different folks...
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
  Reply with quote
25-11-2006, 07:31 PM   #8
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,277
DJBlazer

Dude it looks good, but again (yawn) 60hrs for this is a joke, its not like you are rendering fur, hair, Ents or Gollum, some tweaks I feel, or just use MR if you want good Photorealistic renders


Good work though

Jay
  Reply with quote
25-11-2006, 09:50 PM   #9
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Thanks for the comments...

actually there aren't almost any settings to tweak since Maxwell is a unbiased renderer. That's one of the good things, it's easy to use and get realistic renders without going through tons of settings. Sure it's possible to get a photorealistic render with MR, but you have to be a God of MR to get it as good as this. I think my previous MR renders sucks compared to the one I render in Maxwell.

Usually a couple of hours gives a nice render, but it depends of what you're rendering, a whole room with light to bounce around in takes much longer time apparently.
  Reply with quote
25-11-2006, 09:58 PM   #10
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,277
hey DJ

So is it similar in effect to final gather then? I mean in the way it works or is it more of a GI type renderer?

Cheers
Jay
  Reply with quote
26-11-2006, 05:36 AM   #11
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
I can't say I know the exact mathematical algorithms it uses. I just know that it's pretty different from most render engines
  Reply with quote
26-11-2006, 07:15 AM   #12
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Blaz, Nice scene, but drop maxwell.

If it is so limited in setting and is taking 60+ish hours to render a simple scene, then I really don't think it worth it.

Donno if this will help tho.

Extacted from Maxwell site:

> SECTION: Rendering, Optimization
> PROBLEM: Very noisy image even after a long render time.
There are several things you can do to optimize a scene, mostly related to emitters:

- Make sure your emitting surfaces are as lowpoly as possible. Most times a single sided polygon will be sufficient.

- If possible, do not completely enclose your emitters inside a dielectric object.

- Very important: do not have very white or fully saturated materials in your scene. For example a completely white (255, 255, 255) material will take a very long time to clear and will also make the contrast in the image disappear. Also avoid completely saturated colors such as pure red (255, 0, 0). Pure white or pure saturated materials do not exist in real life so it's better to decrease the saturation a bit. For a white wall, around RGB 220 or less is sufficient.

- For interior renders where window glass reflections are necessary, use the AGS glass material for the windows instead of real glass. This will create the reflections but will not produce any caustics, thus speeding up the rendering.

Go for MR m8, its gonna give you great results
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
  Reply with quote
26-11-2006, 07:22 AM   #13
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
it begs the question then, what video card and computer you using, without being funny, i could understand the time taken if it an older machine or something but this time is not a good advert for Maxwell (by all accounts). I think most here find it hard enough to sit through a 60 minute render much less a 60 hour one. the work is great as already mentioned many times, but i think you could be working on Maya rather than waiting nearly 3 days for a render, but, you must like it very much. Mental ray is not that hard if you get a tut, really, if i can follow it anyone can. the quality is as good i think as this, if you like render, you should be intrigued by MR.

but, onward all good men...
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
  Reply with quote
26-11-2006, 11:09 PM   #14
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
mirek03:
I have a server that I can use for rendering when doing other stuff on my real PC. AND.... maxwell supports that you can render on different computers, stop and then resume.. and then combine several renders to one.

And I know a pretty good deal about MR, but as I was saying before, I think I hardly ever have seen anyone rendered a completely realistic interior scene in MR.

I must also say that I'm far from an expert in Maxwell so you could possible cut those render times a lot.

The pic is rendered on an AMD 2200+ and 2800+ 1.5gb ram. Video card has no significance.

R@nSiD:
Thanks for those tips!
  Reply with quote
27-11-2006, 07:00 AM   #15
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
makes more sense now, i think many questions answered there, yea, if you got more than one PC, one can experiment to hearts delight.

__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
  Reply with quote
Reply
Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 Last »

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Living Room Scene & UV Mapping/Texturing lecra Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 27-03-2014 05:28 AM
My own living room HerrieB Work In Progress 1 03-03-2012 04:12 AM
Photo-realistic Living Room Scene errethakbe Finished Work 7 23-02-2008 07:01 PM
My living room Taylor1234 Finished Work 4 01-03-2006 07:36 PM
My Indoor Living Room concorddawned Work In Progress 7 19-02-2006 01:44 PM