SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Combining Live Video and maya tutorial

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
Page 1 of 2 1 2
 
Thread Tools
24-09-2003, 08:25 PM   #1
tank2002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: In the Caribbean
Posts: 193
Combining Live Video and maya tutorial
Hi guys first time posting!!

If i'm here i'm a newbie Question:
I would like to know how to combine a Live video footage with maya 5 to use for reference in animating a character walking.

I will shoot myself walking and use it as a reference.

???? what do i have to do to import (i have Vegas Video or Premier 6 and Maya 5 no ADOBE After effects or Quick time software)

Thanks in advance
  Reply with quote
24-09-2003, 08:41 PM   #2
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
You'll need Maya Live to do that...

-Emo
  Reply with quote
24-09-2003, 08:43 PM   #3
tank2002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: In the Caribbean
Posts: 193
i have it!!
__________________
If you can Imagine, Draw it, if you Draw it, Animate it, then it becomes a Masterpiece.....
  Reply with quote
25-09-2003, 02:31 PM   #4
ragecgi
Registered User
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
If you are just using it for reference for "rotomation",

(the act of animating your object to mimic 2d footage using said footage as a direct reference)

..which it sounds like you are doing, you could just map your video onto a plane, and just animate your object in front of that.

Emo has a great point with using Live, as that will help you also setup your camera/lens configuration & animation at the same time as well, so....

That is what I LOVE about Maya, is that there are a zillion ways to do everything

Good luck!
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
  Reply with quote
25-09-2003, 07:19 PM   #5
tank2002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: In the Caribbean
Posts: 193
Is there a tutorial about Maya live, sounds like i will use it a lot cause i want to mix 3d with live video.

thanks!!!
__________________
If you can Imagine, Draw it, if you Draw it, Animate it, then it becomes a Masterpiece.....
  Reply with quote
25-09-2003, 09:37 PM   #6
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Well I looked for a good MayaLive tutorial for a LONG time and yes, I did find some but didnt really understand it... so I gathered 20 bucks and I bought the Clearance VHS version of Alias' MayaLive and so far it's really good!

-Emo
  Reply with quote
25-09-2003, 09:38 PM   #7
tank2002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: In the Caribbean
Posts: 193
well i guess i'll go and find some dvd or book

thanks for replying!!
__________________
If you can Imagine, Draw it, if you Draw it, Animate it, then it becomes a Masterpiece.....
  Reply with quote
25-09-2003, 10:37 PM   #8
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
before you go spending money, check this out

http://www.bk.tudelft.nl/scripts/gui...asp?dbid=11000

-Emo
  Reply with quote
25-09-2003, 10:45 PM   #9
sgiuoco2
Registered User
 
sgiuoco2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: tx
Posts: 1
good deal... no money
__________________
Life is like a midget at a urinal... You
should always reach for the top.
  Reply with quote
26-09-2003, 01:36 PM   #10
tank2002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: In the Caribbean
Posts: 193
OMG Emo, where how did u find this? hehehe

Thanks very much for the great help!!!!

Hope to post some of my newbie work for ur comments!!!
__________________
If you can Imagine, Draw it, if you Draw it, Animate it, then it becomes a Masterpiece.....
  Reply with quote
26-09-2003, 07:10 PM   #11
john99sem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: ca
Posts: 9
i was reading that free tutorial but once you get to page three it goes to the wrong link damn i really want to finish reading it. anybody know any other maya live tutorials. i need to know how to import the video into maya in the first place.
  Reply with quote
26-09-2003, 08:17 PM   #12
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Well I got some bad and some good news...I found another tutorial (that's the good news) but if you can't read Korean, that's your bad news

http://www.funny3d.com/tutorial/article/Live.pdf

-Emo
  Reply with quote
26-09-2003, 09:15 PM   #13
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
First off, open maya, hit F1 and read the help docs on "live" if you haven't already. You could also do the "live" tutorial in the "Instant Unlimited" section of the help docs. As for the missing page in the tut Emo linked up....look at the url and you'll notice a database ID number when you go through the pages. Apparently they linked things wrong so type 11300 for the ID and you'll get part 3. Or just click here:

http://www.bk.tudelft.nl/scripts/gui...asp?dbid=11300
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
  Reply with quote
28-09-2003, 04:58 AM   #14
Neptune755
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 8
MAN
this si what i've been wanting to do all along and no one understood what i was trying to say. I got all this weird info. All i wanted to know as how to put maya and live footage together.

And here it goes finally. can anyone provide anymore indepth info on this subject please?
  Reply with quote
28-09-2003, 03:13 PM   #15
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
What specifically do you need to know? If you look at the various information we gave in this post, it should get you on your way. If you don't have Maya Unlimited (which has Maya Live), you would have to use a separate matchmoving software that exports camera data into a format maya reads. ICARUS was a free one that was good but is no longer available. The General Idea of how all this works is:

1. You shoot your footage, keeping in mind objects or things in the scene you will use to setup matchpoints later.

2. With Maya Live, you bring in the frames of your footage as a series of still images, then you designate multiple matchpoints to help Maya determine how the camera is moving. Very trial and error.

3. After everything is done. You can composite everything in After Effects 5.5 and above as it will import Maya camera data.

That's the general idea, anyway.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."

Last edited by NitroLiq; 28-09-2003 at 03:50 PM.
  Reply with quote