Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 2
This course will look in the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. It's aimed at people that have some modeling experience in Maya but are having trouble with complex objects.
# 1 25-02-2009 , 04:39 PM

GLock 18

I am a new modeler.Recently i started working with a MOD group.There i created a pistol(GLcok 18).I know for gaming the low poly the better.I started with low poly but failed to maintain to the last.
Also i think this model could not be usable.Because there could be lots of mistakes.Like zero face area, zero length edge etc etc.If i use MAYA's CLEANUP the is distorts the shape of the model.
I want to know the tactics to models for games,the common mistakes, the better way to model and to avoid mistakes.
This model has been rendered using MANTRA.But the file is attached.If u find a problem and any suggestion or anything that could improve my model, i will be glad to know.

user added image user added image
user added image
user added image
user added image
user added image

NB: PLZ don't use this model for any other purpose.It is only for this forum's discussion only.

THANK YOU.

# 2 25-02-2009 , 06:07 PM
The Nurb Herd

Re: GLock 18

NB: PLZ don't use this model for any other purpose.It is only for this forum's discussion only.
[/B]

hehe, what would anyone do with it? btw, the file is not attached.

Houdini! cool, i just downloaded the apprentice thing cos i'm gonna give their competition a shot.
Mantra looks very similar to an AO render in maya. perhaps you should have just done that instead, or perhaps thats something you could find out about. you shouldn't have to switch from maya just to render something!
As for game models... dunno much about them.

Last edited by honestdom; 25-02-2009 at 06:11 PM.
# 3 25-02-2009 , 06:14 PM

Re: Re: GLock 18

AO render in maya

What is it?

# 4 25-02-2009 , 06:27 PM
The Nurb Herd
sorry, an Ambient Occlusion render pass