Complex UV Layout in Maya
Over the last couple of years UV layout in Maya has changed for the better. In this course we're going to be taking a look at some of those changes as we UV map an entire character
# 1 13-06-2002, 09:49 PM
DefLep
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 3

Rendering in Maya

I am just starting out with the Maya PLE. I really like Maya so far. I am getting ready to buy Maya complete in the next week or 2. I was just wondering about one thing. I heard the rendering in Maya isn't very good. Some say it is slow, while others say the quality is just poor. My main goal with Maya is to make photorealistic images. I am not into the animation aspect at this time. I was wondering what the people here use for rendering. The research that I have done for alternatives has lead me to consider either a MayaMan-Entrophy combination or the Mental Ray for Maya plugin. Could somebody set me straight on this? Thanks,DefLep

# 2 13-06-2002, 11:30 PM
Kevin
Guest
Posts: n/a
well I have used Mental Ray and its fantastic, thats the one I would go for! and your right...the worst thing about maya ..is its renderer! it pretty lame!

but if you got the cash mate them mentals the one imo!

# 3 14-06-2002, 01:00 AM
Darkon
SM Alumni
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 509


Now that isn't finished, but that's just the Maya renderer. Just a matter of taking the time to learn it

Darkon


Red bellows of flame have blackened my stones
Convulsing my frame and cracking my bones
Hell's dragons of steel who roar in their chains
Crawl into my caves to suck out my veins.....

-The Mountain P.F.M.
# 4 14-06-2002, 01:07 AM
DefLep
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Wow. Cool picture. Looks great. If that is considered poor quality, I'll take it. Thanks


Last edited by DefLep; 14-06-2002 at 01:36 AM.
# 5 14-06-2002, 07:49 AM
Kevin
Guest
Posts: n/a
lol, yep its good, infact very nice, just compared to the rest of the programme the renderer is poor.

render that with mental and then you will see

# 6 14-06-2002, 06:34 PM
Darkon
SM Alumni
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 509
Yeah, Mental Ray is sweet, but too many people knock the Maya renderer without ever really "using" it. Besides the renderer in XSI, which is Mental Ray, the renderer in Maya beats the others hands down. Problem is the default settings are terrible, it's slow, and takes some time to use it well. If you have the cash, the best bet is Mental Ray AND Renderman :p

Darkon


Red bellows of flame have blackened my stones
Convulsing my frame and cracking my bones
Hell's dragons of steel who roar in their chains
Crawl into my caves to suck out my veins.....

-The Mountain P.F.M.
# 7 15-06-2002, 02:29 AM
DefLep
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Thanks for your help.Both of you. Do you have more work I can see(with the Maya renderer)?.Thanks Again

# 8 15-06-2002, 07:54 PM
Darkon
SM Alumni
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 509
Ok, here's another unfinished scene (seems like most of my stuff fits in this category ).




Darkon


Red bellows of flame have blackened my stones
Convulsing my frame and cracking my bones
Hell's dragons of steel who roar in their chains
Crawl into my caves to suck out my veins.....

-The Mountain P.F.M.
# 9 15-06-2002, 09:20 PM
Nem's Avatar
Nem
Subscriber
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
what are u lot tlkin about?
renderman is the way to go

# 10 26-08-2002, 05:44 AM
Cyberlloyd's Avatar
Cyberlloyd
SM Alumni
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Kanaduh
Posts: 72
Those look pretty good...

I think that I am going to try this renderman, and see what it is a ll about. Is it just a free download or do I have to buy it somewhere ? You guys have any links anywhere that I can find out more about it with ?


"You know you've done your job right when nobody notices"

"Don't quote me boy cause I ain't said sh*t"
# 11 26-08-2002, 12:20 PM
Nem's Avatar
Nem
Subscriber
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
it only costs about $8000


- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
# 12 10-09-2002, 09:01 PM
boomji
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 17

or you could wait for this...

hey dude,
though www.splutterfish.com has just released brazil 1.0 for max i think they are going to be doing a maya version.you can do with the native maya renderer for the time being and if you really need another solution then by that time brazil may be ported.
b

# 13 10-09-2002, 09:27 PM
ragecgi's Avatar
ragecgi
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709

Re: or you could wait for this...

Originally posted by boomji
hey dude,
though www.splutterfish.com has just released brazil 1.0 for max i think they are going to be doing a maya version.you can do with the native maya renderer for the time being and if you really need another solution then by that time brazil may be ported.
b

Originally Posted by
I was just about to say the SAME thing
Brazil is gonna ROCk on Maya from what I hear....


Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
# 14 27-09-2002, 01:42 PM
creaminds
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 28
try Pixar Renderman Animation Studio, If you have seen Final Fantasy you'll know what I'm talking about

# 15 27-09-2002, 05:16 PM
Nem's Avatar
Nem
Subscriber
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
mayas native renderer is pretty good, no point in spending extra money on sumthing uve already got


- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Reply to this thread
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads