SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 31-01-2004, 11:03 PM   #1
Psuedo Realizm
Subscriber
 
Psuedo Realizm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: In front of my computer
Posts: 258
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Extrude Splits

alright, i'm trying to extrude a face but whenever i try to extrude it it splits... is there an option that can keep the edges together.. if not how can i fix this? i've attached an image to show what i'm talking about
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	simplymayahelp.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	12.3 KB
ID:	12926  
__________________
AIM: Psuedo Realizm
Psuedo Realizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2004, 11:10 PM   #2
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Keep faces together under Polygon/Tool options.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2004, 11:10 PM   #3
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

http://www.simplymaya.com/movie_page...html?tut_id=46

This might help some.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2004, 11:17 PM   #4
Psuedo Realizm
Subscriber
 
Psuedo Realizm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: In front of my computer
Posts: 258
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default yeah...

thanks mtmckinley i'm downloading that video right now

mrmacca i have the keep faces together option turned on already, i think my problem is that i did the duplicate instance the main body of it, and now the two parts are like a fraction of an inch apart causing them to extrude out away from eachother... anyway i can merge these together?
__________________
AIM: Psuedo Realizm
Psuedo Realizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2004, 11:40 PM   #5
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Looking at your model yeah, you could use merge vertices. Also, if they're now two seperate objects, use polygons combine then merge the vertices.

Last edited by mrmacca : 31-01-2004 at 11:42 PM.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2004, 12:02 AM   #6
Psuedo Realizm
Subscriber
 
Psuedo Realizm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: In front of my computer
Posts: 258
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it wont connect to the cv's i want it to, it always connect to different ones
__________________
AIM: Psuedo Realizm
Psuedo Realizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2004, 12:15 AM   #7
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

if you select only the two vertices you want to mege at a time then use merge vertices, if thy don't connect, go to the channel box and open the merge vertices options and increase the distance until they do
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2004, 12:35 AM   #8
Psuedo Realizm
Subscriber
 
Psuedo Realizm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: In front of my computer
Posts: 258
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thats not working for some reason, i cant figure it out, could it be becuase the two vertices are instanced?.... ahhh i'm probly just doin something wrong
__________________
AIM: Psuedo Realizm
Psuedo Realizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2004, 12:41 AM   #9
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Can you quickly post your maya file?
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2004, 12:49 AM   #10
Psuedo Realizm
Subscriber
 
Psuedo Realizm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: In front of my computer
Posts: 258
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default alright

alright here's my file, its kind of a mess cuase i'm still pretty new to this
Attached Files
File Type: mb creature thing.mb (80.5 KB, 15 views)
__________________
AIM: Psuedo Realizm
Psuedo Realizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2004, 01:00 AM   #11
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

You have two seperate objects so shift select both then from the polygon menu choose combine, then you can select pairs of vertices to merge, try a setting of around 0.1 to start.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2004, 01:11 AM   #12
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Just something i noticed, you need to clean up the faces on the rear part of the model, if you go into face mode you'll see a lot of faces just sitting in the middle of edges, you can delete those, rest of the model looks ok. The other thing i would mention is when modelling, try to keep the model at square angles to the orthographic cameras, if you look in the front view your model is sitting at an angle, it's tough to work this way.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2004, 01:29 AM   #13
Psuedo Realizm
Subscriber
 
Psuedo Realizm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: In front of my computer
Posts: 258
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default thanks

yeah i dont know how the body got all cockeye'd but somehow it did, and i'll take your advice on deleting those faces.. but you know how its in two parts were i duplicated and instanced it... is there a way i can connect them and make them one.. so i can extrude the tail with out the extrusions going there directions? thanks in advance for all the help
__________________
AIM: Psuedo Realizm
Psuedo Realizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2004, 01:40 AM   #14
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Just as i mentioned above, select both halves and use polygon combine, here's your file with history so you can see what i did.
Attached Files
File Type: mb creature thingmerged.mb (91.9 KB, 15 views)
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2004, 01:40 AM   #15
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mrmacca
You have two seperate objects so shift select both then from the polygon menu choose combine, then you can select pairs of vertices to merge, try a setting of around 0.1 to start.
There's your answer.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extrude Manipulator does not appear Celebrus Technical Issues 11 15-10-2013 08:37 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.