SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Competitions / Previous Challenges (Archives) / March / April - flib - Noob
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-03-2004, 02:42 AM   #1
flib
Registered User
 
flib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: England
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default March / April - flib - Noob

Decided to give this months challenge a go. Entering at "noob" level, because that's what I am when it comes to Maya. The scene i'm making isn't a real place, still working on what the environment around the structures will be .. got a few ideas for that. Oh i've also added a little man in there just give to a better idea of the scale of the buildings. Anyway this is what I have so far, only really been working on the shapes so theres no smaller details added yet.

http://www.flib.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/maya/1b.jpg

(full 1024x768 image here)

Sorry it's kinda dark .. will make it brighter for future shots. Really doing this challenge so I can hopefully gain experience from this from the way's i'll be making the models. More to come later!
flib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 07:14 AM   #2
rich
Subscriber
 
rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 418
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: March / April - flib - Noob

Quote:
Originally posted by flib
Oh i've also added a little man in there just give to a better idea of the scale of the buildings.
I'm finding myself playing Where's Waldo with your image... where is that little dude???
__________________
That'll do donkey... that'll do...
rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 07:15 AM   #3
rich
Subscriber
 
rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 418
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ah ok... found him in the high res pic all tucked away in that wide open space! I must say that is a very big building... I'm looking forward to seeing where this is headed.
__________________
That'll do donkey... that'll do...
rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 08:04 AM   #4
flib
Registered User
 
flib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: England
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Heh, the smaller image got rid of the little guy (blurred him out) becaused of the reduction in quality from a bitmap
flib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 08:20 AM   #5
Ankalagon
Registered User
 
Ankalagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Novi Sad, Detelinara, Serbia
Posts: 468
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK just pasing by and whanted too say too yuo that your icture is way dark flib, go to photoshop CS and play with Levels or lights &shadows, See ya guys
Ankalagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 12:15 PM   #6
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Quote:
go to photoshop CS and play with Levels or lights &shadows
No, light it properly to begin with
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 03:08 PM   #7
flib
Registered User
 
flib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: England
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Rebuilt the house today and added some finer detail to the building, also fixed the lightning (took me hours :/) and heres what it looks like so far (hardly any change, building is different in proportion and like i say, some detail has been added .. but lightings fixed .. yay \o/)

http://www.flib.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/maya/2.jpg
flib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 03:32 PM   #8
rich
Subscriber
 
rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 418
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by flib
...also fixed the lightning (took me hours :/)
Here's a quick route to easy renders of your models that also look good. It takes about 5 minutes to set up...

(1) Delete all the lights from your scene
(2) In Render Globals, open the Common tab and switch off "Use Default Lights"
(3) Also in the Render Globals, switch to Mental Ray and - in the MR tab - turn the quality to PreviewFinalGather.
(4) Open up the Final Gather section in Render Globals and turn the number of rays down to 350
(5) In the viewport, click View->Camera Attribute Editor...
(6) In the Camera Attribute Editor open up the Environment section and change the color to say a 30% grey.

Now render that.

If your PC is fast, you can ramp up the number of FG rays but you'll find that your render times increase dramatically.

Also, you can include a low power directional light with shadows switched on to give nices shadow off your model.

Hope that helps.
__________________
That'll do donkey... that'll do...
rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 04:25 PM   #9
orgeeizm
Registered User
 
orgeeizm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: union city, ca
Posts: 390
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

looking good so far flib. i like the design of your main temple.

i just tried richs' suggestion on the lighting and it works real good. easy to setup.
__________________
<a href="http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=16675">May/June 2005 Challenge Entry</a>
orgeeizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 04:46 PM   #10
flib
Registered User
 
flib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: England
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks orgeeizm

Thanks rich aswell, i'll have to give that lighting setup a go and see if it helps any better than using GI Joe.
flib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 10:54 PM   #11
Ankalagon
Registered User
 
Ankalagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Novi Sad, Detelinara, Serbia
Posts: 468
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yup puyre morning he can doo that too but thet is too easy just joking, jea make that lightning beather, btw what hapend with your defalt lightning???
Ankalagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 11:04 PM   #12
Ankalagon
Registered User
 
Ankalagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Novi Sad, Detelinara, Serbia
Posts: 468
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

orgeeizm i realy like your avatar is that your model, can you give it too me in some high resolution (if thats your model), THX in advance
Ankalagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 12:05 AM   #13
orgeeizm
Registered User
 
orgeeizm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: union city, ca
Posts: 390
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

it is actually. it was my unfinished, or rather yet, paused wip. ill get back to work on it once this challenge and my other projects are done. let me render you some pics.

---------

here ya go:
screenshot
http://www.noise-iye.net/sm/dalienex-wip1-ss.jpg
1024x768 zip:
dalienex-wip1.rar
__________________
<a href="http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=16675">May/June 2005 Challenge Entry</a>

Last edited by orgeeizm : 04-03-2004 at 02:11 AM.
orgeeizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 08:37 AM   #14
Ankalagon
Registered User
 
Ankalagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Novi Sad, Detelinara, Serbia
Posts: 468
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Like it realy nice, you was not on forum for some time now, jestourday a sow jor posts on everi subject that i was wisiting, whats your story?
Ankalagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2004, 11:29 PM   #15
Ankalagon
Registered User
 
Ankalagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Novi Sad, Detelinara, Serbia
Posts: 468
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rich
Here's a quick route to easy renders of your models that also look good. It takes about 5 minutes to set up...

(1) Delete all the lights from your scene
(2) In Render Globals, open the Common tab and switch off "Use Default Lights"
(3) Also in the Render Globals, switch to Mental Ray and - in the MR tab - turn the quality to PreviewFinalGather.
(4) Open up the Final Gather section in Render Globals and turn the number of rays down to 350
(5) In the viewport, click View->Camera Attribute Editor...
(6) In the Camera Attribute Editor open up the Environment section and change the color to say a 30% grey.

Now render that.

If your PC is fast, you can ramp up the number of FG rays but you'll find that your render times increase dramatically.

Also, you can include a low power directional light with shadows switched on to give nices shadow off your model.

Hope that helps.
No that did not help at all, something is not corect in your lines. can you make one check what you have write !!!!
Ankalagon is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.