SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-03-2004, 10:16 PM   #1
twisteddragon33
Registered User
 
twisteddragon33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,945
Thanks: 0
Thanked 45 Times in 45 Posts
Default Stairs

Is there a reletivly easy way to make stairs in maya 5? I thinkt he way im doing it is more dificult than it needs to be.
__________________
________________________
AIM: SublimeDragon33
Catch me if i'm on. Always up for a chat.
e-mail: sublimedragon33@gmail.com
twisteddragon33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 10:23 PM   #2
3djoe
Subscriber
 
3djoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CT USA
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it depends on what style stairs you are making!
if they are straight up I would create 1 then duplicate it with transform.
__________________
Never Do Today What You Can Put Off Till Tomorrow..
My New Site MayaFx.com
3djoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2004, 10:12 PM   #3
twisteddragon33
Registered User
 
twisteddragon33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,945
Thanks: 0
Thanked 45 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Just any stairs you can think of. Starting to get annoying.
__________________
________________________
AIM: SublimeDragon33
Catch me if i'm on. Always up for a chat.
e-mail: sublimedragon33@gmail.com
twisteddragon33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2004, 12:58 AM   #4
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

1) create poly cube.
2) Scale X: 4
3) Edit>Duplicate>OptionsBox
4) Check "Smart Transform" then click "duplicate"
5) snap (hold down x) new cube to Translate Y and Z to 1.
6) WITHOUT clicking anything else, press Ctrl d and a third cube will appear at translate Y and Z at 2. Press Ctrl d again and another cube will appear at translate 3, and so on and so forth for however many steps you want.

This same technique can be used with other types of stairs as well. If you wanted to do a spiral stair case, I would model a step first, then move it far from the grid center, then move the pivot opint to 0,0,0 and do the Smart Transform duplicate I explained above to make all the stairs you need. All you have to do is copy the first step you modeled once, move up a little and rotate it as needed, then Ctrl d it a few times.

Hope this helps.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.