SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Modeling / Modeling / alpha mask imported texture file
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 24-08-2004, 04:12 AM   #1
lemon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: japan
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default alpha mask imported texture file

I have imported a .tiff file. It was a font character created in Illustrator and exported as .eps. It was then opened in Photoshop and, selected and had a mask applied to it. It was then saved as a .tiff file, placed in the 'source images' project folder and imported into Maya using the attributes editor/bump map/file option. It was assigned to a nurbs plane ok, but the alpha channel has not seemed to have worked. The font character is visible but so is the surrounding nurbes plane when rendered. I have 'alpha channel mask' switched on in my render globals. I think i may have gone wrong somewhere in the photoshop mask secion of the process. I went back to photoshop and inversed the mask selection but this was no help.

Can anyone suggest something, please.

thank you
lemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2004, 02:55 AM   #2
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I know I have had to manually map the transparency to the file, so maybe try that. If you don't see anything mapped when you open up the attributes editor for the shader, that's your problem. You might also have to mess around with the alpha slider thingy. (can't remember what it's called) but it's somewhere in the attributes editor for the mapped texture file for transparency.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2004, 09:11 AM   #3
ArtBlack
Registered User
 
ArtBlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If you are working with Maya and you want to have the Alpha channel work without any problems, it is usually a good idea to save the file as a Targa(*.tga).

Targa stores the Alpha channel Data better for some reason. Even an IFF doesn't work the same!

Just see if this solves your problem.
ArtBlack is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.