SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / scaling a skeleton
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-12-2004, 04:54 PM   #1
Velusion
Registered User
 
Velusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 368
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default scaling a skeleton

Is there a way to scale a model's skeleton along with the model. I tried selecting the model and all of the skeleton's joints but when I scaled it up (or down) the skeleton did not keep it's proper relationship with the model. It did transform but not the way I expected.

I would like to make the model with a skeleton then have the ability to scale everything as needed. How do you do this?
__________________
James Rogers
www.morphicmotion.com
Velusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 02:48 PM   #2
stavs82
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think ive done this before by making a locator then parenting the root of the skeleton to it, then parenting all of the geometry of the character to the same locator. Then you can just scale the locator and it should all scale with it.
stavs82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 08:31 PM   #3
Velusion
Registered User
 
Velusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 368
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the advice. I'll give it a try.
__________________
James Rogers
www.morphicmotion.com
Velusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 10:24 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

yeah, group the root joint with any IK handles and such and it should scale fine.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 10:58 PM   #5
Velusion
Registered User
 
Velusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 368
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok, what I did was bind the model to the skeleton. NOw, all I have to do is select the entire skeleton and scale it, the model will follow since it is bound to it. The eyes and inside of the mouth are point constrained to specific joints within the skeleton. To get them to scale properly, I just select them along with the entire skeleton and EVERYTHING will scale together. I haven't set up the rigging yet but I think that all I'll have to do is select the locators for each control just as I have to with the eyes and teeth.

To be honest, I would have thought that there would be an easier way to scale a completely rigged model.
__________________
James Rogers
www.morphicmotion.com
Velusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2016, 11:40 PM   #6
suraj
Subscriber
 
suraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stavs82 View Post
I think ive done this before by making a locator then parenting the root of the skeleton to it, then parenting all of the geometry of the character to the same locator. Then you can just scale the locator and it should all scale with it.
HOLY CRAP! I'VE BEEN LOOKING ALL OVER THE INTERNET FOR THIS SOLUTION! THANK YOU SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH!
suraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2017, 05:15 AM   #7
dlopezdemedrano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

To be honest making locators to do a global scale isn't the proper way we do in the industry. Always remember joints bind to the geometry, controllers are constrained to manipulate the joints. All animators touch are the controllers themselves and thats it.

You will essentially have 3 main group nodes or containers. "MESH", "JOINTS", "CONTROLLERS". Each one has underneath what corresponds to it. After each joint that you want to be manipulated has its own controllers you then add a "PLC" which is short for placement controller, which basically is a nonkeyable controller that animators use to place a character, prop or vehicle in position in the scene.

This PLC controller as well has an attribute you make that connects to the Scale X,Y and Z of that same controller, that way animators just manipulate that controller's new attribute called "Global Scale" and they don't have to worry about it again. The PLC is in other words the "root" and main controller of your entire rig.

Feel free to check out my website! (:

http://dlopezdemedrano.com
dlopezdemedrano is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.