Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-12-2004, 05:54 PM   #1
Velusion
Registered User
 
Velusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 368
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default scaling a skeleton

Is there a way to scale a model's skeleton along with the model. I tried selecting the model and all of the skeleton's joints but when I scaled it up (or down) the skeleton did not keep it's proper relationship with the model. It did transform but not the way I expected.

I would like to make the model with a skeleton then have the ability to scale everything as needed. How do you do this?
__________________
James Rogers
www.morphicmotion.com
Velusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 03:48 PM   #2
stavs82
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think ive done this before by making a locator then parenting the root of the skeleton to it, then parenting all of the geometry of the character to the same locator. Then you can just scale the locator and it should all scale with it.
stavs82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 09:31 PM   #3
Velusion
Registered User
 
Velusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 368
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the advice. I'll give it a try.
__________________
James Rogers
www.morphicmotion.com
Velusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 11:24 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

yeah, group the root joint with any IK handles and such and it should scale fine.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 11:58 PM   #5
Velusion
Registered User
 
Velusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 368
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok, what I did was bind the model to the skeleton. NOw, all I have to do is select the entire skeleton and scale it, the model will follow since it is bound to it. The eyes and inside of the mouth are point constrained to specific joints within the skeleton. To get them to scale properly, I just select them along with the entire skeleton and EVERYTHING will scale together. I haven't set up the rigging yet but I think that all I'll have to do is select the locators for each control just as I have to with the eyes and teeth.

To be honest, I would have thought that there would be an easier way to scale a completely rigged model.
__________________
James Rogers
www.morphicmotion.com
Velusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2016, 12:40 AM   #6
suraj
Subscriber
 
suraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by stavs82 View Post
I think ive done this before by making a locator then parenting the root of the skeleton to it, then parenting all of the geometry of the character to the same locator. Then you can just scale the locator and it should all scale with it.
HOLY CRAP! I'VE BEEN LOOKING ALL OVER THE INTERNET FOR THIS SOLUTION! THANK YOU SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH!
suraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2017, 06:15 AM   #7
dlopezdemedrano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

To be honest making locators to do a global scale isn't the proper way we do in the industry. Always remember joints bind to the geometry, controllers are constrained to manipulate the joints. All animators touch are the controllers themselves and thats it.

You will essentially have 3 main group nodes or containers. "MESH", "JOINTS", "CONTROLLERS". Each one has underneath what corresponds to it. After each joint that you want to be manipulated has its own controllers you then add a "PLC" which is short for placement controller, which basically is a nonkeyable controller that animators use to place a character, prop or vehicle in position in the scene.

This PLC controller as well has an attribute you make that connects to the Scale X,Y and Z of that same controller, that way animators just manipulate that controller's new attribute called "Global Scale" and they don't have to worry about it again. The PLC is in other words the "root" and main controller of your entire rig.

Feel free to check out my website! (:

http://dlopezdemedrano.com
dlopezdemedrano is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.