SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / rotating the scale axes
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-01-2005, 01:41 PM   #1
junkyBob
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 203
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default rotating the scale axes

Hi there all.
Finding the answer to my first question, I see that you can rotate the local axis by going into component mode, then click on the question mark, then select the pivot point and then click on the rotate tool to rotate the pivot point. In addition I see that when I go back to object mode, and if you double click on the move tool, you get the move tool attributes. In here you can choose all different ways how you want your move manipulator tool to react. This includes having the move tool to have along the Object's axis, Local axis, World axis, Normal axis, and Along rotation axis.

Now if I was to rotate the local axis say 45 degrees, and then chose Along Rotate Axis in the Move attribute window, the move tool will follow the angle to what you have specified in the Rotate Local Axis. However, double clicking on the scale tool to open the scale attributes window, there is no option to allow the scale axis to follow the Local Rotate axis. Is there another check box somwhere else or something like that so that the scale axis can follow the Local Rotate axis?

What I am tring to do is I need to select the vertices of an object and have the scale pivot to follow the direction of these vertices that are selected.

I have read in this forum that you could create another object and then group the 2 objects togther, but this doesn't work when you only want to select a few vertices. So is there something that I am missing cause it seems odd that you can have the move tool follow the local rotate axis but why not the scale tool?
junkyBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 06:23 PM   #2
adrie
Registered User
 
adrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

I need help on this as well.. I have a few verts selected and wanted to scale them but the axis has to be first rotated to a certain position first... anyone with suggestions?

Thanks!
adrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2006, 11:32 AM   #3
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Ok - I might be way off mark here, but I think what you want to do is select the object or components, hit E for the rotate tool and then hit Insert. This will allow you to move the tool to the point that you want the verts to rotate around. Just remember to hit Insert again once you are ready to start rotating.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.