SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Modeling / Modeling / Combine and then merging multiple vertex/edges
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 24-01-2005, 02:00 PM   #1
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default Combine and then merging multiple vertex/edges

I need help on an issue that I can not fix myself.

I have created a halve of a chess piece - Knight in poly. I then duplicated it and then combined the two pieces in to ine poly object.

The problem is that when you do so it makes a nice piece of geometry but in shading mode you will see a specific line on where the pieces were combined.

[See attachment] - the yellow dotted vertex is the line where it shows the two different geometry.

I have searched this forum on how to fix this but as far as I can see it that I have to manually merge each vertex :-S

How can I fix this issue ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	combine.jpg
Views:	2497
Size:	119.5 KB
ID:	19354  
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
Protheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2005, 05:54 PM   #2
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Under the Edit Polygons menu is an option to "merge multiple vertices." Just select the row of vertices as you have then run that feature.
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2005, 06:14 PM   #3
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Or I am blind or my Maya is screwed up as I do not have that option in my Edit Poly:


I am using version 5
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	polymenu.jpg
Views:	2487
Size:	35.1 KB
ID:	19358  
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
Protheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2005, 06:44 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I think he meant Merge Vertices.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2005, 07:19 PM   #5
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mtmckinley
I think he meant Merge Vertices.
SO if I select all the center vertex and press the Merge vertex it will merge the vertex closes to each other ?

Just want o be sure ?
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
Protheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2005, 08:35 PM   #6
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

You'll probably need to adjust the distance slider in the Merge Vertices options. The higher the distance, the futher out it will look for vertices to merge. You can also adjust this after the fact in the Channel Box's inputs section.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2005, 09:37 PM   #7
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

My fault... As Mike stated it is the "merge vertices" If you go into the options box next that option you can adjust the tolerance. I.e. merger vertices that are within a certain distance range. Select the vertices you want to merge limits this action to only the selected vertices rather than all vertices in the mesh. Sorry for the confusion.
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2005, 11:23 PM   #8
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

I think it worked... when I move a vertex it "Sticks" to the object - tnx all..
__________________
The Important Thing is NOT to Stop Questioning.
--- Albert Einstein ---
www.ProtheusWorld.tk
Protheus is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.