SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / rendering as AVI problem
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-10-2002, 01:16 PM   #1
Ripper
Registered User
 
Ripper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy rendering as AVI problem

I've encountered this problem a few times and would like to know if there is a fix. I was working through a tutorial I had found where you link objects in your animation. The animation consists of 2 ships, one is poly, the other is nurb.

When I animate, I can see all the movement in the wireframe windows, but when I try to animate as an avi, it doesn't create anything. The globals are set correctly and the log shows something to the effect of "cannot find ship2" even though it shows up fine in the wire views with hardware texture and shading on.

I really hope I explained the problem well enough with enough information.

Nothing is more annoying than woking on something for a couple of days and then finding out it just won't work
Ripper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2002, 01:18 PM   #2
Oculus
Subscriber
 
Oculus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 175
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

When you set the settings to render as a .avi, it only spits on a one frame .avi? I had this problem for the LONGEST time, and couldnt figure it out...

You could try loading the preset> Moviesetup. That worked for me once or twice. Otherwise, if you have something like Adobe Premiere, you can just compile your render .tgas (or whatever else) into an animation and have complete control over compression setting. =]
__________________
- Chris L. Harkins -
Oculus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2002, 01:33 PM   #3
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

nice post Oculus!! and a big welcome to Simply Maya
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2002, 01:40 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Are you referencing ship2 from another file?
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2002, 08:30 PM   #5
Ripper
Registered User
 
Ripper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am referencing 2 files outside of the main rendering file. All the textures and the objects show up when I render, thats what perplexes me so much.,

No, it's not being rendered as a single frame AVI, it's not being rendered at all as an AVI... but it will render each frame individually, so yes, maybe something like Adobe Premier might be my only answer, although it would be nice if the program would do what it's supposed to do
Ripper is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.