SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / About animation in modern games
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 28-01-2005, 12:45 PM   #1
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default About animation in modern games

Hello all.

I'm learning animation at the moment, and was wandering few things.
First of all, If you have games like doom 3, and you want to export character to hte engine. I have seen that some area on the model (i.e., where legs and arms are bending) have to use "influence objects" and similar techincs to make correct bending/deformation. Now, my question is, how dou you do that for games like Doom 3 Far Cry, maybe even Unreal engine 3, and how in older games?
Also, i.e., when exporting animation with skeleton into a game, what can I export? I mean things like locators, IK handels, deformers,etc?

Also, not to open a ne thread, I have another problem:
I am trying to animate hand. Now, when I try to rotate a finger joint, there is a problem, because the finger is not pointing at the same direction as "rotate tool". I would like to lock lety say "x" and "z" direction so the finger can bend only in "y" direction like it's normal. I know how to do that , but if I do that, the finger won't rotate as it should, because rotate tool is pointing in other direction. I should somehow rotate the moving point, but don't know how? Maybe I should use locators?

Thanks for help!

Last edited by Sil-Valeor : 28-01-2005 at 12:47 PM.
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2005, 12:51 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I couldn't tell you about the exporting as each engine has it's own rules regarding that.

As for the fingers, with the join selected, in component mode, turn on the "?" selection mask (called Miscellaneous) and you can select the joint's local rotation axis and rotate it however you want.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2005, 01:18 PM   #3
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Tnx, but still not working. I can "local" rotate, but but it still don't rotate the way I can adjust with Global rotate that the rotate toool is pointing in the same direction as finger bu only by moving finger itself. If I could now switch to local rotate it would be ok, but whne I do that, the rotate tool automatically rotate the way it was before.
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2005, 01:25 PM   #4
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Here's the pictures that show's the problem. You see the Rotation axis, that is colored in red? well, i need it to be rotated (not the model, but rotate tool) so it points at the same direction as selected joints (green one). So now, when I would select the red rotate axis, it would bend finger down as as it should.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	slika.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	52.6 KB
ID:	19399  
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2005, 02:43 PM   #5
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

global rotate cannot be adjusted. Only local.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2005, 02:52 PM   #6
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

hmm....so how could I rotate the "rotate tool" without actually rotating that joint?

--Edited--

I think I found the way. I should rotate every joint so they in the X direction, freeze transf. on that joint and then rotate it back to previous position.

Tnx!

Last edited by Sil-Valeor : 28-01-2005 at 03:03 PM.
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2005, 03:18 PM   #7
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

As stated before, going into component mode and selecting the ? selection mask will allow you to select and rotate a joint's local rotation axis without rotating the joint itself.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2005, 03:45 PM   #8
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

oook...I know this is stupid question....but tell me then, how do you go into a component mode?

ok, never mind, I've got it now, tnx a lot!

Last edited by Sil-Valeor : 28-01-2005 at 03:56 PM.
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.