SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Invisible background in Maya (4 After Effects)
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 16-03-2005, 10:24 AM   #1
Dracula24
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Invisible background in Maya (4 After Effects)

Hi @ all !

How can I render my animation in Maya, so that I have an invisible background (instad black)?
I wont to use thies animation in After Effects over an original movie. I read something with alpha channel...

Is 4shure easy, but I realy don`t know how to make thies!
Dracula24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2005, 10:46 AM   #2
lisa_gonzalez
Subscriber
 
lisa_gonzalez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default

When rendering your animation, in the Render Globals window, ensure that the box next to Alpha Channel is checked on (this is found under the renderable objects section). THis will render your animation with an alpha channel, which will allow you to comp your render over another background.

Also, if you wish to change the colour of the background in the render, you can do this by selecting the camera you are rendering through, and going to the sttribute editor. In here scroll down to the environment section, and you can change the background colour from black to whatever you want.

Hope this helps

LisaG
__________________
When in doubt......smile!

http://www.x-menthelaststand.com/
lisa_gonzalez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2005, 06:26 PM   #3
Dracula24
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Cool!
It works

Thanks
Dracula24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2005, 06:37 PM   #4
Dracula24
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

One more thing:

- Where can I find the "sttribute editor"?
- What is the "Depth Channel (Z Depth)" in the global render?
Dracula24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2005, 08:28 AM   #5
lisa_gonzalez
Subscriber
 
lisa_gonzalez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default

You can find the attribute editor under window -> attribute editor , or alternatively, just select something (say your camera) and press ctrl + a.

The depth channel provides 3D info about the distance of objects in your render from the camera. This is used by the compositing software to correctly composite layers.


__________________
When in doubt......smile!

http://www.x-menthelaststand.com/
lisa_gonzalez is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
paint effects... se7enhedd Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 04-12-2010 03:59 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.