SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Maya help wont work
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-06-2005, 06:46 PM   #1
ajaycad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cornwall U.K
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Maya help wont work

How do I set up the Maya help....I,m a true beginner to Maya (after months of Autocad, Inventor etc) and thought I would get to know it. Trouble is I cant get the help files to show, anyone got a step by step procedure for setting up the localhost etc......
__________________
may the seed from your loins be fruitful in the belly of your woman
ajaycad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 09:15 PM   #2
Total Rookie
Registered User
 
Total Rookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Where do u think I am right now? Alright, I'll tell y' all... I'm at Gnomon Workshop and Highend3d sites...Hehehehe...just kiddin':)!!!!Oh, I'm not a ego member anymore? Cool!!!! I'm a Senior Member now!!!!
Posts: 599
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hey, don't worry about that. I'm a NooB too!!

Have u tried pressing F1 when u are on the Maya window?
__________________
Anyone here plays Tibia?

Add me to your MSN list

Tibia is the best MMORPG that i've ever seen...xD
Total Rookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005, 08:50 AM   #3
ajaycad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cornwall U.K
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yep, know all about F1..........its actually setting up the server so that when you press F1 you get the help pages. All i,m getting is the "page cannot be found" error. I haver tried following the troubleshooter text on alias website...no joy!
__________________
may the seed from your loins be fruitful in the belly of your woman
ajaycad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 06:48 AM   #4
Sprite
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ,

page cannot be found if it's not installed on your comp.
you get it in the installation package or at least it should install on a legit copy automaticaly...
otherwise maybe there's a place where you can download it and put in right directory.. I wouldnt know where but maybe do a check on your CD or zip to find it and manually copy it into the appropriate folder that help describes

did you read the step by step "if help isn't working" under the help menu? it shows the directory it should be in

hope you get it working - maya help is a really good guide. very user friendly too!
Sprite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 07:27 PM   #5
azimuth
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

you might wanna check that the alias service is running (assuming your using a windows box).

First off Task manager should have a process called Wrapper.exe running. If its there I think my help kinda stops, if its missing....

Check to see if the service is running by running services.msc from the [Start]-[Run] box. The maya service is fairly close to the top and on my machine is named "Alias Documentation Server".

If your like me and streamline your machine for speed at booting, and get rid of all thoses extra procesess, you may have mistakenly switched it off.

Good Luck!
azimuth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 03:37 PM   #6
ghDude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

could you goto the "view english docs" (in my case)
from your start button/ maya folder
or does it need the server?
ghDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 04:19 PM   #7
ajaycad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cornwall U.K
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default maya help

Not sure what I have done, but it works now
Thank you all for the suggestions
__________________
may the seed from your loins be fruitful in the belly of your woman
ajaycad is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Character animation-Finished work maheshsubbiah Finished Work 7 05-12-2010 04:04 AM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.