SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Technical Issues / fatal error causing total system freeze!
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-09-2005, 05:26 PM   #1
Andyd_79
Registered User
 
Andyd_79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default fatal error causing total system freeze!

ok....

I can build a model with no problems untill suddenly i will select an edge, or a vector and the system will trip, asthough the cpu is working, then it will dong at me and then it will freeze completely requireing a total reboot, it seems to happen more while i'm in edge mode or vector mode... i'm running maya 6.5, i had no problems whatsoever with 5 but this problem is so annoying its stopping me modeling completely. thanks to anyone in advance if they have any suggestions that may be of help!

Andy
Andyd_79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2005, 05:07 AM   #2
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Default

From what I've seen at our facility, 6.5 was riddled with bugs. Also, unless you're taking advantage of the updates in Mental Ray, it's a complete waste of time. I would go back to version 6 if you can or update to version 7.
__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2005, 09:15 PM   #3
Andyd_79
Registered User
 
Andyd_79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok...

well this is the thing, i decided to go back to maya 5, i figured that i could model in that, to keep myself learning, and just stick to things without hair, blah blah blah, anyway, i stared out, fine, no problems, then all of a sudden, the same thing , computer crashes, this never used to happen, incidentally, i've reinstalled a fresh with a new computer, could it be a conflict or an incompatability with the video card do you think? its very annoying and its stopping me progressing, i've just spent loads of money on a better system purely so i can throw myself into 3D animation and it seems i can't (holds back tears) if anyone has any ideas i would be very grateful, and thank yuou for your reply aswell, anything helps....

Andy
Andyd_79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 03:18 AM   #4
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Some system specs would help.
__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 09:06 PM   #5
Andyd_79
Registered User
 
Andyd_79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

running an AMD clawhammer 3700 socket 754 on an asus K8N mother board, 2 gig of 400hz memory and a hercules 3D profit 9200 video card in the AGP slot. running XP professional with all current updates...

also is there a reccomended graphics card i could be looking out for? i'm new to hardware right now so i'm sort of learning on the fly, thanks for the help though once again...

Andy
Andyd_79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2005, 06:43 AM   #6
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Well, first thing I would do is check the compatibility of your video card with Maya. I'm not familiar with the Hercules line. Here's a link to Alias' compatibility chart for Maya 5.0. Look to see if your card is listed or if it has any problems.

http://www.alias.com/eng/support/may...ya_50_win.html
__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2005, 08:46 PM   #7
Andyd_79
Registered User
 
Andyd_79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok, checked it out, hecules is some kind of spurious make i gather, but it uses an ATI driver, i'm not sure but if i use a reccomended driver will it, or should it work with the card if it is designed to run ATI drivers?? i find it rathewr baffling that it has always worked and has only recently decided to hiccup like this, could it be that some kind of update i've made to the computer ie, a service pack or a direct x update could have caused some sort of conflict or just simply doesn't like my graphics card?? thanks once agin for your ongoing help!

Andy
Andyd_79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2005, 04:22 AM   #8
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Default

I've read somewhere that someone installed the latest drivers and is was having some problems with his card as well. He was given a link to some other drivers and after he installed them. It's possible that the latest drivers are not compatible with Maya. I'll see if I can find that post and send you to the proper drivers for your card.

Regarding the help... No problem. That's what I'm here for.
__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.