SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Modeling / Modeling / Why doesn't my subdiv to polygons work like the instructors? Spitfire tutorial
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-11-2005, 10:25 AM   #1
gizmo1990
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Why doesn't my subdiv to polygons work like the instructors? Spitfire tutorial

I'm following the Spitfire tutorial (very cool by the way) but I don't understand how the instructor is moving between sub div polgons and back again?

When the instructor is attaching the wing to the fuselage he uses the turn polys to sub div, this I get. But then he seems to click on the sub div to polygons shortcut to jump back to the model BEFORE it was sub divided, kinda like a undo. This I definitely don't get!?

When I do this my object stays sub divided (the polys change slightly too) and in my channels it changes to,subdtessShape1. Why is this not working like the instructors? Ie, simply turning off subdiv like it was a mode?

EDIT: This happens around 10:34 in part 3 and another good example of it is at 21:46.

Please help?
gizmo1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 12:27 PM   #2
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

Dude dont worry about the shortcut as it can throw you. Learn from the main menus then create your own.

Anyway the answer to your problem is very simpe. To convert the poly to a sub D go to the Modify menu>Convert>Poly to SubD.

Okay, when converting back to the base level mesh, again go to the Modify menu>Convert>SubDs to Poly, but to get it back to the base mesh, hit the vertices radio button and put the Level setting on the left to Zero. Sorted.

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 02:01 PM   #3
gizmo1990
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Aha! I see!

So Maya remembers that I have my subdiv to poly settings set to vertices and levels to 0 whenever I perform that operation again?

Thanks very much for your help Jay. :bow:
gizmo1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 02:18 PM   #4
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

Yes in a way, now you can create a shortcut from poly to sub d and from sub d to poly for the desk top.

Easy huh? No problem

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Character animation-Finished work maheshsubbiah Finished Work 7 05-12-2010 04:04 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.