SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Help!!! Lost my model
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-11-2002, 06:22 AM   #1
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Help!!! Lost my model

I was doing the shark tutorial from the VIP section but i can't view my object any longer, only in perspective. Side, top and front are blank. I've tried selecting the object and using shift F, this only frames the model in perspective, also tried shift A. I've tried closing Maya and restarting. Same problem. Anyone got a solution. This is the first time i've had this issue.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2002, 06:30 AM   #2
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Hmm, perhaps you accidentaly disconnected the object from itīs default shaders.
  • Open the Hypershade and look for the shark model nodes,
  • MMB-drag the shark node to to the default lamber shader node, and if itīs what I think it is, it should appear.
Hope it helps mate ...
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2002, 06:37 AM   #3
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I doubt it, i still see it in the perspective view. Also, i can only see my image planes in the perspective view, grid as well. Gone in all the orthographic views. They're just totally blank.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2002, 06:38 AM   #4
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Can you get a screenshot? of the views and the Hypershade?
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2002, 06:46 AM   #5
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Here you go. Thanks.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2002, 06:53 AM   #6
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Hmm.. This is strange, it could be a video issue, but since this one is such a generalized answer, letīs try to dwell a little into the problem ... did you check the preferences for any ortographic views changes? Check diplay settings for ortographics cameras too ...
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2002, 07:01 AM   #7
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

ok, got them back. I've no idea what happened. I just went to View and selected Defualt home for each camera. Back where i was now. Thanks adldesigner for your help. I appreciate it.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2002, 07:06 AM   #8
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Great! Glad you sorted it out mate!
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2002, 07:12 AM   #9
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

move over the windows and press "a" or "f" for frame all
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2002, 07:28 AM   #10
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Kev, i tried all of those, shift f, shift a, f, a, none of them would work, only for perspective. It was probably something i did by mistake. It's all working now anyway. Thanks.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2002, 05:58 PM   #11
Heinrich
Registered User
 
Heinrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have a problem like this except it affects my perspective window. Sometimes when I hit "f" in the perspective window my object dissapears. I open my outliner and select the perspective camera and it's X,Y, and Z translation are at -1459814513871. The front, side and top views are fine. Anyone else get this???
Heinrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2002, 06:18 PM   #12
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Yes, I've seen that before. It happens every now and then. I usually do as was described and return my camera to default, or simply type in 0 in the screwed up translation channel. Both work.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2002, 11:14 AM   #13
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I've had that happen when I group several objects together and then frame the group. It shoves the camera way back for some reason.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 11:39 AM
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 09:28 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.