SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 26-01-2006, 03:23 PM   #1
jhubbard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 187
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default What?

Dudes i im just riggin my character and i wonted to see what it looked like smoothed so after putting it in a pose i used a poly smooth to like X1, and so no i have a load more vertices. Usually after looking at it i just edit undo but i thought id do a render so i did and now (im using PLE) it wont let me undo cos it sez i cant chage the image resolution on the render (it is limited) how do i undo the smooth cos smooth = a pain.
Thanks
j0sh
jhubbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2006, 06:24 PM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

set the smooth iterations to 0 (assuming you have history on) and then delete history and that should do it.


A
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2006, 09:22 PM   #3
jhubbard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 187
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

were do i find smoothed aliterations? ive never had to do this before, n yer my histor aint bee deleted.
Thanks
jhubbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2006, 07:51 AM   #4
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

in the channel box. Select the geo that you want to unsmooth and then in the channel box you should see polySmooth node name. Click that then it should allow you to change the iterations.


A
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2006, 01:00 PM   #5
jhubbard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 187
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

im my chanel box i have a node called "PolysmoothFace1" i tried changing this to "PolysmoothFace0" but it did nothing. Can u explain cos i dont know what im meant to change.
Thanks
jhubbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2006, 01:02 PM   #6
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

that's the name of the node. If you click on it or open the attribute editor then you should see a box that says divisions and it's value will be a number normally 0, 1 or 2. Change it to 0 and it will remove the smoothing.


A
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2006, 01:08 PM   #7
jhubbard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 187
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

all it lets me do whe i clickon it is chagethe name =(
jhubbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2006, 01:09 PM   #8
jhubbard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 187
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

done it thx dude
jhubbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2006, 06:28 PM   #9
jhubbard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 187
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

pure morning do you have ay idea why whe i smooth geometry in a scene with fur in it all my fur disappears when i render? Or anyone else, i posted in the noob section but nooone looks there =( . Thnks
Josh
jhubbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2006, 10:40 PM   #10
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

I've never really used the fur but if I were you I would apply the fur after you smooth because your UVs change when you smooth and the fur is based on them... try that, I'll try to look at your thread in the morning.


A
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2006, 03:28 PM   #11
jhubbard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 187
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

pure i tried applying the fur after a smooth and still no luck, ive tried not smoothing the geometry which will have the fur on and only smoothing the geometry without fur, asoon as i smooth any bit of the model and render the fur doesnt appear in the render.
:headbang: :headbang: :headbang:
jhubbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2006, 03:37 PM   #12
jhubbard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 187
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

btw i watched yer reel very nice, i dont know which bits of that are cg n are not. looks cool, did u make that city environment? I would like to know how to add real people into a cg environment, looks so cool. Nice one.
jhubbard is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.