Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 01-06-2006, 01:15 PM   #1
remowilliamsuk
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default MentalRay blows image out

I have tried rendering a few things mith MentalRay and the light areas of the image always get blown out.

I have even opened a tutorial file from a book with disc I bought, but my image blows out completley when keeping the settings all the same as the writer set them.

I haven't had Maya for long so I haven't messed with the settings as far as I know - does anyone know what could be wrong?
remowilliamsuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 01:39 PM   #2
Radical Edward
Registered User
 
Radical Edward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 234
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

blows out?
Radical Edward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 08:17 PM   #3
remowilliamsuk
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The slightly bright parts look like a really overexposed photo.

So a slightly bright part of the image will just be a big bright glare with no details
remowilliamsuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 08:24 PM   #4
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

then just turn the light intensity down
__________________
Live the life you love, love the life you live
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 09:12 PM   #5
remowilliamsuk
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think it would be best if I restored the mentalray defaults. Is there a way of doing that?
remowilliamsuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 09:40 PM   #6
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

you probably didn't change anything from mental ray default. odds are the tut writer has a different version of maya/mental ray then you do.

Just use a lower intensity light! :angery:
__________________
Live the life you love, love the life you live
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 10:54 PM   #7
remowilliamsuk
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks brother. I'll let you know the outcome
remowilliamsuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breakfast - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 4 19-04-2011 07:37 PM
Stratocaster - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 2 31-12-2010 10:30 AM
Rhinoman - Original SM Gallery Image by Septopus David Simply Maya Gallery 0 09-12-2010 02:42 PM
Physical Fitness Center Lounge - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 0 05-12-2010 12:32 PM
Guards - Original SM Gallery Image by Escelce Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 0 05-12-2010 12:01 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.