SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Your Work / Work In Progress / Villain (Maya - Zbrush)
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 22-08-2006, 02:19 AM   #16
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Im sure that it will all come together when you start to texture it!

Have you had a look at Antropus costa's picasso project overview, superb!
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2006, 03:54 AM   #17
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

PBman: Thanks, LOL I have! No its not a tute, just my base head with sculpting. This guy is an Outlaws Villain, he needs to look like shite basically I may droop one eyebrow too. It still needs hair and texures, it will make sense once its all come together

gster: Yeah very cool, but check this one out of his too, you'll need tissues, as you'll cry with envy...http://www.kolbyjukes.com/forum/view...er=asc&start=0

Cheers
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2006, 03:08 PM   #18
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

Well, been having a tinker with this this evening, I wasnt overly happy with it, so I got the character sketch out and re-sculpted the chin area and ears accordingly. Still a few bits to sort, Z brush is so cool in the way you can go up and down in levels of detail, sculpting frombase level upwards to level 5 so far, such control.....

Have tested displacement textures and it looks good enough, but I'll show all those once the rest is done. Back to texturing my other character now.

Cheers

Jay

Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2006, 03:52 PM   #19
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

just wonderin..........
r u using a tablet or mouse?

i like the adjustment u made too the ears

thx
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2006, 06:38 PM   #20
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Dude.. ZBrush without a tablet is like...
Disco without John Travolta..
Like, water without oxygen..
Like...like..Jay without Reference!

LoL
G
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2006, 02:32 AM   #21
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

G: LMFAO!! :attn: Rock on!!

PBman: Thanks dude, absolutely without a doubt a tablet, its easier in to use in Z,but the occasional pull with a mouse is sometimes needed

Best
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2006, 04:50 AM   #22
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Nice one Jay, like the updates.

How many polys are you with at the moment?

I've been playing with the edge loops and Zspheres to get decent topoloy at low levels, I seem to be finding it a bit easier than modeling a base mesh in maya then going in to Zbrush.
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2006, 06:42 AM   #23
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

im a mixed bag with zb i like to base in zb with no details ie no eye sockets nose ect
then add these in maya then refine in zb but im still crap at adding detail in zb lol

ur doing very well jay
u have 2 great projects running at the mo
keep it up
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2006, 09:22 AM   #24
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

Thanks guys

Steve: Its at level 4 at around 131k polys but at level 5 it half a million!! I have a decent lo res Maya base head so I'll be using that for now, once the models are done forthis entire project then I'll move to Zsphere modelling hehe

PBman: Dont put yourself down dude!! Jeez Im hardly a master at Zbrush or Maya, take your time and build up from as low a level as possible adding more detail as you need


Cheers
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2006, 10:16 AM   #25
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Jay

Yeah man Zspheres seem the way forward for someone just going organic like me (maybe its my jumping forward) but I can get flowing topology and really nice edge loops, for some reason the colours when your using the frame seem to allow me to view the flow of the geometry better??

Think i'm going to be concentrating on mocap for a bit in my PHD so i'm going to be needing some good models to play with!

Cheers

Steve
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2006, 11:04 AM   #26
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

Hey Steve

Good luck with that...

Have an update, having a look at texture placements...

Jay


Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2006, 01:23 PM   #27
pixelsoul
Subscriber
 
pixelsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 307
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think the problem is the vein on the chin.. nobody has a big vein like that their.. or is it a scar.. if its a scar i think it should be more carved into the flesh and make it all nasty
pixelsoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2006, 02:00 PM   #28
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ditto - i totally agree on the scar thing , i personaly would consider scrapping it but u know what i think about it
if it floats ur boat keep it

textures lookin nice so far
i thinkthe eyebrows r a little thin on the ground or a little pale mayb u havent done a lot on these yet so....

man i dont know how u r doin both these projects at once its hard enough to follow u doin them is another thing all together
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2006, 02:09 PM   #29
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

his ears are pretty big lol nice work.
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
starjsjswars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2006, 09:42 PM   #30
pixelsoul
Subscriber
 
pixelsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 307
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by starjsjswars
his ears are pretty big lol nice work.
Remember that zbrush has no perspective view as of now
pixelsoul is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 12:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.