SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Converting Triangles to Quads? (not working)
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 29-08-2006, 11:44 PM   #1
TheDyingInformant
Registered User
 
TheDyingInformant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Converting Triangles to Quads? (not working)

Heya.

I have a model here I got from a game but.... I've already used Polygon Cleanup to take care of some 'crazyness' that was going on with the mesh. Gosh it was like spiderwebs, all over the place, even in the air (which wasn't part of the actual shape).


Now after the cleanup, I still am not impressed with this mesh. I mean, why triangles? I could never understand that personally. Quads seems to look alot cleaner and well organised, and easier to work with too. But i tried to convert triangles to quads and it DIDN'T WORK. Now what? Perhaps there is some other method? Can I duplicate the model shape, but not the 'mesh', the UV map? can I dupicate and have the copy become quads? It might be difficult to do so and keep the shape, because I can see in some cases, triangles were actually adjusted for the appearance - not just 'there' because games require it or something.

By the way, I want to ask, is the newest Maya much easier in some ways than Maya5? I still have Maya 5! lol. I need to update it for sure...
TheDyingInformant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2006, 05:47 AM   #2
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

All game models are tris as far as im aware. Have you tried the quadranulate command? other than that manually delete the edges between two adjacent tris to get a quad then delete the verts afterwards
__________________
If you believe in telekinesis, raise my right hand.
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2006, 07:29 AM   #3
TheDyingInformant
Registered User
 
TheDyingInformant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes I tried that command. Any idea why it doesn't work? I can do it manually ofcourse but, oh my thats gonna take a while...
TheDyingInformant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2006, 07:34 AM   #4
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Not sure, maybe keep trying and alter the quadrangulate options to see if that has any effect
__________________
If you believe in telekinesis, raise my right hand.
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.