SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Translation Problems
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-09-2006, 11:43 AM   #1
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Translation Problems

Hi everybody!

I have been having problems with translating objects, everytime I enter certain values such as 8.2 , Maya would interprete it as 8.199999999999999 (yes, I did set the precision thingy in the channel box this high). Am I doing something wrong, is this a bug or is this just how Maya is? My version is 6.5 Unlimited.

Thanks
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 03:27 PM   #2
Lt Jim
Subscriber
 
Lt Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 367
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Have you tried setting the precision to three or four figures? I use 6.5 unlimited and haven't had that problem, though I don't have my precision set as high as you! :-) Let me know what happens if you decide to try bringing down the precision a bit!
__________________
"Ad astra per aspera..."
Lt Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 04:32 PM   #3
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for your reply.

Hmm, interesting suggestion. I think I'll try it, but the way in my understanding, when the precision is set to a lower value, Maya simply hides all the figures behind it, it doesn't actually fix the problem.

Just wondering, if any of you still use Maya 6.5, make a poly cube, translate it to 8.2, set the precision to fifteen digits and see if it goes haywire. If 8.2 doesn't work, try any value above 7, just make sure that it has a decimal in it. If it does go crazy, post a reply in this thread, I would like to know if its my copy, equipment or stupidity.

Thanks

Last edited by The Architect : 02-09-2006 at 11:56 PM.
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 04:41 PM   #4
Lt Jim
Subscriber
 
Lt Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 367
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Now that I think of it, where DO you set the precision? I might have toyed with it a while ago, but I've forgotten. Otherwise, I will try your suggestion!
__________________
"Ad astra per aspera..."
Lt Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 09:38 PM   #5
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Presicion is set in the channel box Options.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2006, 01:19 AM   #6
Lt Jim
Subscriber
 
Lt Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 367
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Well, I tried it and what I found is as follows:

Any setting from 3-14 decimal places works fine. Only a setting of 15 decimal places (the maximum allowable) gives me an "8.19999999999999".

Solution? Change your decimal settings to 14! The best of BOTH worlds! :-)
__________________
"Ad astra per aspera..."
Lt Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2006, 08:34 PM   #7
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello everyone!

Yeah, I tried setting precison from 1 to 14, they were all fine, except for 15. Guess that its some bug in the software. I really didn't expect that in a high end app, setting precision higher would yield an inaccurate result.

Thanks everyone.
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.