SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Members Lounge / graphics card
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 28-09-2006, 01:55 AM   #1
daffas
Subscriber
 
daffas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The States
Posts: 193
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default graphics card

im woundering are geforce graphics cards good???? or radeon????? im thinking about a geforec 7200 or one of those types in the 7000, are those the most up to date ones?
__________________
Do what you like, like what you do.
daffas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2006, 03:58 AM   #2
severinianthony
Registered User
 
severinianthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 513
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I can't speak for Radeon, but I have an Nvidia GeForce 7800 GT, and it kicks booty...
__________________
severinianthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2006, 05:22 AM   #3
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Have a look on CG talk, theres lots of threads on GForce cards there that might help you out with your decision.

I've got a Gforce 7900 GTX, its great but thats my opinion.
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2006, 06:20 PM   #4
happymat27
Subscriber
 
happymat27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I think that the rule of thumb is that G-Force cards are gaming cards, if you want a card to work properly with 3D applications you should be looking at workstation cards like the Nvidia Quadro series. I know that Radeon do a workstation series too but I know nothing about them.

Take it easy,

Mat.
happymat27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2006, 08:55 PM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Yeah Matt thets true, If you want to run a 3d app using a gaming card then its a bit of a gamble, as, especially with maya, you might get problems.

Having a good look around prior to getting my laptop it seemed that there was minimal/no problems with the new Gforce cards 9also it saved me quite a bit of money to boot, but like I said it can be a bit of a gamble
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2006, 08:59 PM   #6
gaganjain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: India
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If u had money with u can upgrade now if u come short for money and u want card that for long then wait DX10 Card to be l anuch
gaganjain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 04:00 AM   #7
daffas
Subscriber
 
daffas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The States
Posts: 193
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

cool thanks everyone. i think im going to go with radeon because my old 9200 worked with maya pretty good. i think im going to get the radeon x1300 256mb agp.
__________________
Do what you like, like what you do.
daffas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 04:43 AM   #8
severinianthony
Registered User
 
severinianthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 513
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Interesting facts...

Is there such a card type that can alternate/change its performance between 3D applications and games?

Truth be told, I'm a gamer, and the 3D work I do is aimed towards gaming, and I'd abhor having to shut down my computer, open it up, swap out cards and start the thing up again just to switch between doing one/the other.

Not to mention it might get pretty hot (40-45 celsius...ouch!).
__________________
severinianthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 04:51 AM   #9
dragonfx
Registered User
 
dragonfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

an ati 1900 XT 256mb seems sweet right now... id update to it if i had PCIe XD

About DX10> my old trusty 6800GT can run vista desktop and included stuff without a hiccup... in fact im posting from it right now... I wanna get my hands over a game/heavy3d app for vista to really test it tough... and drivers too... how i miss asus smart doctor to kill the default 4000rpm of the craphics card to something less noisy...
dragonfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 06:29 AM   #10
Dutch
Registered User
 
Dutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I know I've got like 1 post total here but I'd thought I'd mention this in case no one else had.

I have a Radeon 9800 Pro in my system. It works fine with Maya except for image planes. When you setup an image plane and then begin working with it, if you zoom way in on it you will notice it skews with respect to any geometry in the scene. The workaround that I use is to create a plane with my reference image as it's texture. The plane does not skew.

I don't know if this is a problem with all ATI cards, but I thought you might want to be aware of it.
Dutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 01:38 PM   #11
dragonfx
Registered User
 
dragonfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it might be the drivers, before the 6800 i had a 9800 all in one that died honorable thermal death at the age of two... just when the warranty expired, how nice... anyways the thing is it never gave me that trouble... things you could try include installing the newest drivers, reinstalling the older drivers that came with the card, you could also want to check the overlay settings of the driver or, as you did, just ignoring image planes and use a plane with the texture on it...

Last edited by dragonfx : 05-10-2006 at 01:46 PM.
dragonfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 01:44 PM   #12
dragonfx
Registered User
 
dragonfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by severinianthony
Interesting facts...

Is there such a card type that can alternate/change its performance between 3D applications and games?

Truth be told, I'm a gamer, and the 3D work I do is aimed towards gaming, and I'd abhor having to shut down my computer, open it up, swap out cards and start the thing up again just to switch between doing one/the other.

Not to mention it might get pretty hot (40-45 celsius...ouch!).
lol my 6800 alternates between 50 to 90 celsius...
anyways the bundled asus smartdoctor can overcklock and adjust fan speeds automatically and/of following your precise instructions both for ati and nvidia shipsets... dunno what other brands will have in that line...
dragonfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 08:43 PM   #13
severinianthony
Registered User
 
severinianthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 513
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dragonfx
lol my 6800 alternates between 50 to 90 celsius...
anyways the bundled asus smartdoctor can overcklock and adjust fan speeds automatically and/of following your precise instructions both for ati and nvidia shipsets... dunno what other brands will have in that line...
Ow...!

I've had my Nvidia GeForce 7800 GT for a while now, but it used to run at about 60-80 celsius...then I got a fan, and it's cooled my poor, overworked card down to about 40-45, like I said, but I think 40-45 celsius is still around 105-115 farenheit...!
__________________
severinianthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 10:58 PM   #14
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

My 7900 GTX Go runs at about 60 degrees, goes up to 70 when pushed. then again it is in a laptop
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 11:45 PM   #15
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

In 3d world magazine a couple of issues back they did a bench test on 3d apps with game cards, they actually worked better overall than the actual designated high end cards

Some food for thought....

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.